We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Parking is free. That's awesome considering I just left San Francisco and paid $51 for 1 night. The location was awesome. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were beautiful. They included a fridge and a ceiling fan. The beds were very comfortable. Only issue I had was there was no vending machines. The only way to get a soda was ordering room service. And room service had a $12 minimum. With a $2 delivery fee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sossamanbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,457
    722
    205
    98
    44
See reviews for
1,300
2,074
124
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sherylfaye
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We loved our stay here. It is so beautiful and the staff was wonderful. The restaurant is very good too!! Highly recommended. We stayed for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and they brought us a lovely present to celebrate!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a wonderful weekend. This hotel deserves the praise I have read so far. Clean, comfortable, gorgeous views and extremely friendly staff, a perfect getaway for a fabulous birthday weekend with my husband. We had the pleasure of dining in Scooners on sight. Great views and abidance. We had a bit of a hick-up the first night there with a disinterested waitress but the 2nd night couldn't have been any better thanks to a very kind and attentive Assistant Manager by the name of Alicia Fink. Thanks to her professionalism and pursuit of excellence, my birthday dinner was one to remember. We single her out for praise for these very reasons. Thank you, we will never forget this beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for selecting Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to be host of your birthday celebration and I’m appreciative of your thoughtful review. I am thrilled to read your weekend created unforgettable memories. I have shared your compliments with Alicia. I hope you will keep us in mind for future special occasions.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just stayed here on a trip out west. Perfect location to explore Cannery Row. We also took day trips to Carmel and Big Sur from here which were perfectly accessible from here as a starting point. The views are amazing from the rooms, from the outside areas and from the restaurant. Also loved the small cafe right on the grounds for breakfast or a quick lunch or coffee run. No question that this is the best place to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyTheVeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Joey,

Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the many aspects of our hotel and our central location on the Monterey Peninsula. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manger
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

From the moment my family and I checked into this gorgeous hotel, I knew it was unlike any other place I stayed. The staff was extremely kind and the rooms had some of the most magnificent views I have ever seen. Waking up to coffee and the sunrise on a balcony just feet above the crystal blue water was one of the most beautiful and memorable experiences of my life. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. It is truly a piece of Heaven on Earth!

Room Tip: These ocean front rooms will leave you speechless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you for your superb five-star review. We are delighted to hear that your family vacation at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa was a memorable experience. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff, rooms and location. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I have just returned to England after a wonderful month spent touring and staying in hotels in California. Most if not all of the hotels we stayed at were predictably first class but one or two were just fabulous - The Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa being one of those.

For a stay in any hotel to reach '5 stars' the overall experience needs to be complete - with this hotel we found the bedroom to be quiet (we had requested that beforehand), the lobby area is relaxing and tastfully furnished with a lovely ambience. The hotel staff we met were superb and nothing was too much trouble. I have singled out some individuals here for praise as they worked so hard to ensure that we had a great stay, these are as follows:-
Jeffrey:-
********
Jeffrey is the front of house manager and my wife and I found him to be so professional, courteous and so keen to ensure that our stay was a memorable one - thank you Jeffrey for all that you did for us to ensure this was the case.
The reception ladies were brilliant, work very hard, literally never stop, have such a professional manner and really do need to receive praise for what they do in also looking after their guests.
Those who my wife and I had the pleasure to meet were as follows:-
Nani, Alana and Jessalyn - Thank you ladies for you couteous, professional approach you really did look after us so well.

The hotel itself is ideally located for those wishing to enjoy the sights of Monterey and also for those wishing to do some trecking out in to, say, the Carmel Valley.

If you stay on a Friday and saturday then you really are in for a treat at the hotel because there is excellent live jazz in the lobby.

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at the hotel restaurant and you will certainly enjoy the breakfasts!! The food range is so extensive and, again, the staff are so attentive loking to serve your every culinary need.

I encourage you to stay at this hotel so that you to can appreciate why I think this hotel and it's staff are simply outstanding. This is perhaps one of the best hotels we've every stayed in but don't take my word for it - go stay there. You won't be dissapointed!!

Room Tip: Requests are clearly always taken in to account.
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage guests to save in several ways to protect the environment.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saturn853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your outstanding review about your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. It is with great pleasure to read that our team delivered warm and outstanding service. Your kind words have been shared with Jeffery and the rest of the team. We hope your travels will bring you back to the Plaza in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Hard to choose for my all time best hotel, between this and the Gild Hall in Manhattan.
The setting of Monterey probably is the clincher. This hotel is classy and elegant, and to wake up to a variety of Lamborghinis lining the street was just immense.
There was an air of arrogance from the staff on arrival, a blemish on what was otherwise an excellent 48 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Interpret_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing