We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, and this was an impressive hotel. Great service, room and restaurant. Would definatly stay again. Close to old fisher mans wharf, canary row and sea front.
Had good coffee shop and free wi fi.
On a slightly different note went whale watching with monteray bay whale watching. A day I will never forget.
If returning to monteray would stay again and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appyhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,637 - 2,643 of 4,980 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is an excellent hotel, from check in to leaving our stay was great.

The view from the room was fantastic and having some binoculars there was a great touch as we could view the sea otters from balcony. The rooms themselves were great and

The restaurant is also very good and we had a great meal there and highly recommend.

Defintiely will stay there on return to Monterey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Plaza is the perfect place to stay in Monterey. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is friendly, and the views are heavenly. The Blue Spa has spectacular views and excellent, attentive staff. It is a very short walk to the aquarium and many excellent restaurants. An added bonus is the fire pit that is on every night it is a great place to sit, have a glass of wine and listen to the waves crash on the beach below.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more for an ocean view room, they are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Bearing in mind I paid (for an Ocean view room) $380 per night to stay here I expected far more. Initial impressions were good and I must say the check-in, concierge and valet team were exceptional. That's where is stopped though.

The rooms are "ok". Nothing really exceptional and the bathrooms a little tired. No where to hang towels except hanging them on a rack above the toilet. Nice eh! The coffee machine is only provided with powder milk and when asked for extra coffee the maid had none.

The worst part of the experience is that the hotel is very geared up towards conferences (for which the unlucky ones had to trawl through that area to get to the rooms). The bar/restaurant 'schooners' is therefore rammed of rowdy work colleagues and is far from a romantic break away experience. Schooners is rather tacky, has dreadful wicker/cane chairs around the bar and rather unfortunate decor. Far from what you expect of a decent expensive hotel. Admittedly there is a small bar in the lobby but it seriously lacked atmosphere and felt like a waiting room. The restaurant is really rather lame and not the experience the web site implies. I felt like I was n a Disney resort rather than a decent hotel.

We tried the Spa which is rather odd. The only changing rooms are via the gym. The steam room has no shower facilities to shower before going into the jacuzzi so you have to then trawl through the gym (sweaty and dripping) to shower before then trawling back out to go to the jacuzzi. Very bad layout!

I felt totally cheated of my extortionate room fee. You're paying for an ocean view and nothing more. You see the ocean all the time in monterey so my advice is stay somewhere cheaper.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Robbie_Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am sorry to read you did not find value in your hotel room or the amenities we have to offer.

I am disappointed your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced. I can assure you we take your comments seriously and we’ll take your feedback under consideration.

We do not want to leave you with a negative impression of the hotel. I hope to speak with you personally, if you could call me at 831-645-4000 or by email at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Outstanding experience - great room, great view, superb staff, and an overall great value! The room was very large with a great partial ocean view (just as advertised). We were able to crack the windows open and enjoy the sound of the surf as we slept. The check in team made our dinner reservation for us next door - getting us the best seat in the place and the menu was provided with our name on it and a free desert as a thank you for the hotel's reservation. Just an overall great experience.

Room Tip: Ensure the partial ocean view faces the ocean. We were specific on our reservation and the hotel ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you for your generous five-star rating regarding your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m delighted to read your stay was an “overall great experience”. Thank you for your compliments on our service, your guestroom and dinner reservations. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Because we live less than 2 hours away, we don't often think about Monterey as a vacation spot, but last week we were reminded of how lucky we are to be so close to such a beautiful destination. We spent 2 nights at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa and plan to go back soon. The hotel is located in the heart of Monterey, but it is quiet and peaceful, a perfect spot from which to explore Cannery Row and visit the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Ordinarily I avoid hotel restaurants, but our package included a restaurant credit, so we had dinner one night at Schooner's, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. My only quibble is the configuration of the rooms in the building on the inland side of the street; if you take the elevator from the hotel lobby, you have to take another elevator to reach floors 2 & 4. It's a small matter, and we solved the problem by jay-walking across the street.

Room Tip: Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room staring out the windows, don't pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aburke20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed our perfect location on Cannery Row and your dining experience at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. We appreciate your feedback regarding the configuration of the rooms. It is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you take the return drive to Monterey.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here, celebrating our 30th anniversary. Excellent service from initial contact with the concierge for pre-trip planning to the valet when we departed. Our "partial ocean view" actually included two (openable!) windows facing directly on the bay, from where we could view otters and through which we heard seals at night.

Management recognized our celebration by providing a dining certificate and huge chocolate-covered strawberries. We used the former at the on-site Schooners restaurant, where we indulged in a stuffed lobster for two and were provided excellent service by Nickolas. My ahi tartare appetizer served on a frozen brick of Himalayan pink salt was one of the most unusual (and delicious) presentations I've ever seen. Breakfast service both days was also excellent, especially by Esdras. Every staff member was friendly and eager to please.

The rooftop spa looked lovely, but unfortunately I didn't have time to indulge. Live classy music and drinks in the lobby in the evening was a nice touch. The hotel has a great location at the END of Cannery Row, near a path that leads to the pier. Don't think I would have wanted to stay at the InterContinental, which is located in the middle of the schlocky shops.

Wine tasting in the Carmel Valley was a highlight of our trip. Many of the small wineries have clustered their tasting rooms together there, which made it easy to visit a number of them without driving around the countryside. Also enjoyed a lovely lunch in the garden of Corkscrew Cafe.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the street because they're noisy and you don't get the view that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn & Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your thoughtful five-star review and for selecting the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for your 30th anniversary. Anniversaries are very important and we are honored that you spent it with us. Our staff is committed to providing “excellent service” and I look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

Sincerely

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $252 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing