We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, spacious rooms, but a little expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice property, spacious rooms, but a little expensive”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a very new and pretty hotel on the water in Monterey. Easy walking distance to both cannery row (including aquarium) and to fisherman's wharf (about 10-15 minutes stroll down a shared bike/pedestrian path). Next door to San Carlos Beach (where a lot of scuba certifications are done at the Breakwater) - I still drove the 1 minute drive to avoid lugging heavy gear from the hotel but you could do a quick drop off of equipment then park back at the hotel if you really wanted to save the $10 parking fee.

We had an upgraded ocean view room that overlooked the courtyard and bay. The bathroom area was spacious and I appreciated the vanity area to set up my makeup. Minus 1 star because it is a bit pricey for what it is, and also because even though they had lovely room service, it didn't start early enough in the morning for me to be able to order it and make my 7:15 am meet for scuba certification. The cafe with the Peet's coffee is open at 6, so that was available but choices were less interesting and of the standard coffee shop fare.

Valet only parking was annoying as I would have preferred to self park, but that's not that uncommon unfortunately. also, I tried to book a spa appointment same day and they were full - seems like the spa fills up quickly so book ahead if you are interested.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTheSunshine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,453
    720
    205
    98
    44
See reviews for
1,296
2,072
124
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have stayed here many times and what is consistent is the attentive high level of service. The rooms are conventionally furnished but always neat and clean. The beds are soft but quite comfortable. We have never used the spa facilities. The best part is the location and view. It is a block or two away from the busiest location in town so is relatively quiet. There are not many eating choices; A coffee and pastry bar on the plaza level and their signature restaurant which we have always found to be average to weak. They cannot handle a large number of guests at once such as when there is a conference or event, and the service is not very good for dining. Luckily Monterey has many other dining options (many of which you will have to drive to). If I wanted to stay in the town of Monterey, this is the only hotel I would select.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the plaza and ocean or cannery row. Street side is not bad and relatively quiet. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was a great stop on our road trip from LA to San Francisco via the Pacific Coast Highway. We spent two nights in 2 rooms. One had an ocean view which is amazing. The other a "garden" view, which is not so great. Our rooms were very large, comfortable and clean. I have only 2 negative comments. One is the pilled, frayed, tacky looking tan "throw" on the end of the beds-get rid of them. The other being the lack of easy access to soda/water. You have to call room service and the minimum was high. The staff is amazing, wait staff at Scooners during breakfast is outstanding. You can walk to all the local attractions i.e. aquarium, wharf, shops, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had never been to Monterey before. What a beautiful hotel and great location. Had booked one room with 2 beds but on arrival decided to request 2 adjoining rooms for my husband and I and our 2 kids. The person who checked me in was great and very kindly accommodated my request (I wish I could remember her name - short, petite and dark hair). Hotel was quiet and very relaxing. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjt0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza with my Father-in-Law and 8 year old son. We had adjoining rooms that were off a courtyard terrace. The hotel is top-notch with attentive staff, welcoming valet, and a beautiful lobby.
It was nice to be able to open the sliding doors to the courtyard and let our son go back and forth between the two rooms in the morning while we were having coffee and getting ready, and again at bedtime.
There is no better location in my opinion. You are about a three minute walk to the aquarium and the heart of Cannery Row, but just enough off of the main thoroughfare to have quiet and be able to hear the ocean waves. :)
The hotel is on the water and has a spa and lovely restaurants with a farm-to-table focus.
You will not be disappointed!
Worth the price.
We are going again with my folks in two weeks!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the money. You are on the water! You want to sit outside and enjoy!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic/local food & beverages. Water conscious practices.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m delighted to read you consider the Plaza the best location in Monterey for you and your family. I enjoyed reading the highlights of your experience. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location -- perfect. And even though it is in the center of activity, inside the rooms it is quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff is simply wonderful.

One problem: the cleaning standards inside the room are not up to the standards of a luxury hotel. Please fix this Monterey Plaza Hotel. We were thinking of spending Christmas here, but I don't feel comfortable being reminded that someone else had just occupied the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the cleanliness of your guestroom. It is certainly not indicative of our standards. I can assure you that your feedback has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping. I appreciate your compliments regarding the location, amenities and hotel staff.

I would like to learn more about your experience, if you could please contact me at 831-645-4000 or jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel on an amazing location. You have a great view of the ocean and even get to see dolphins and other sea animals if you are lucky. Definetely get an ocean view room. The staff is very nice and take their time to help you out. Very close to nice shops and restaurants on Cannery.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing