We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monterey Plaza Hotel has it All!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grover Beach, California, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monterey Plaza Hotel has it All!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza with my Father-in-Law and 8 year old son. We had adjoining rooms that were off a courtyard terrace. The hotel is top-notch with attentive staff, welcoming valet, and a beautiful lobby.
It was nice to be able to open the sliding doors to the courtyard and let our son go back and forth between the two rooms in the morning while we were having coffee and getting ready, and again at bedtime.
There is no better location in my opinion. You are about a three minute walk to the aquarium and the heart of Cannery Row, but just enough off of the main thoroughfare to have quiet and be able to hear the ocean waves. :)
The hotel is on the water and has a spa and lovely restaurants with a farm-to-table focus.
You will not be disappointed!
Worth the price.
We are going again with my folks in two weeks!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the money. You are on the water! You want to sit outside and enjoy!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic/local food & beverages. Water conscious practices.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m delighted to read you consider the Plaza the best location in Monterey for you and your family. I enjoyed reading the highlights of your experience. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,396
    705
    192
    95
    43
See reviews for
1,265
2,028
123
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location -- perfect. And even though it is in the center of activity, inside the rooms it is quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff is simply wonderful.

One problem: the cleaning standards inside the room are not up to the standards of a luxury hotel. Please fix this Monterey Plaza Hotel. We were thinking of spending Christmas here, but I don't feel comfortable being reminded that someone else had just occupied the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the cleanliness of your guestroom. It is certainly not indicative of our standards. I can assure you that your feedback has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping. I appreciate your compliments regarding the location, amenities and hotel staff.

I would like to learn more about your experience, if you could please contact me at 831-645-4000 or jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel on an amazing location. You have a great view of the ocean and even get to see dolphins and other sea animals if you are lucky. Definetely get an ocean view room. The staff is very nice and take their time to help you out. Very close to nice shops and restaurants on Cannery.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent hotel at an absolutely beautiful location. Rooms a great (and best with an ocean view). Both of the two restaurants are great. Service was great throughout (except that the check in and out were very slow, not enough staff at front desk and the lady there is inefficient). We have stayed at the hotel a couple of times and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daneintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The spa is great, the service is exceptional, close to great hiking, and everything needed is within their walls. We had our anniversary here and they gave up chocolate covered strawberries and a gift. The front desk staff is very friendly and the spa staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfromchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was in town for a show taking place at the Monterey Convention Center. It was such pleasure to stay at such a relaxing and beautiful property while in town for work. The bed was so comfortable. I slept with the sliding doors to the balcony open each night so I could fall asleep to the sound of the waves. It was pretty incredible and I was sad to leave. The valet team was so professional and punctual. Every morning I'd call down for my car which I was told would take about 10 minutes to retrieve. They had my car outside and waiting for me within 7 minutes each morning. Dennis at the bell desk exceeded my expectations with is level of professionalism and attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESLIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a wonderful anniversary weekend here. It was romantic, bed was super comfy. Loved the bath products. Cucumber fennel smell. Yum. The robes were SUPER SOFT inside! I didn't want to take mine off and considered packing it and taking it home with me. But I was good and left it to be laundered for the next guest. :)

We had an ocean view king room and it was perfect. Keep in mind that you will be able to hear the waves crashing all night long through the windows, so if that's not your idea of bliss, take a room on the interior or side. I was also able to hear the neighboring family through the walls (muffled), but that didn't bother us either. It just reminded us of how lucky we were to steal some time to ourselves without the kids!

Had a delicious dinner in the restaurant. Service was great, so many servers walking around to help. The restaurant gets crowded on the weekend, so plan ahead and make a reservation. We had the special four-course meal and really enjoyed it. It was the "PORK & PINOT" celebration. Since we didn't have to drive that night, we had the wine pairing. Great food, great wine, great night.

I loved the location of this hotel. It's just off the main area of the strip (Cannery Row). Still very close to walk to the action, but much quieter. Thanks to the kind/attentive staff. They provided excellent service.

Room Tip: You will be able to hear the waves crashing through the windows of the full ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Possem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased you enjoyed the service, your accommodations and dining at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. I look forward to sharing your complimentary remarks with our associates. Thank you for recommending the Plaza and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing