We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, lovely room, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We only spent one night but wished we had another booked! Great location, wonderful views, lovely bedroom with everything needed for our stay. Good restaurant and cafe. No swimming pool but a good spa.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a better view and not overlooking the cafe area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 334Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,971 - 2,977 of 5,274 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was traveling with my family, we hadn't booked any hotels and we arrived late in the evening. We stopped in this beautiful hotel and for our fortune we found an excellent accommodation for the night, thanks also to an italian girl from Sardinia at the reception (unfortunately I don't remember her name) who was really kind and helped us although her shift was almost finished. She saw we were very tired, she proposed me a big room, we did jacuzzi under the starry sky and then we had a delicious dinner on the terrace.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babi_sanremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this lovely hotel. Had a large room with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. Room was clean and included two bottles of water and nightly turn down service. Great location in Monterey right on the ocean where you can walk to all the Monterey shops. Nice rooftop hot tub at the spa but it closes too early at 8 pm- that's probably right when we'd liked to have used it. Valet parking was quick and they always offered directions if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nester321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place is amazing. I researched many different Hotels that I would enjoy to stay at, however, found myself coming back to this one. everything about this Hotel is great friendly service and great location. I've even added another night to my stay I enjoyed It this much. Ill will update in a few days.

other Hotels I considered:
Best Western Victorian inn
Intercontinental
Hilton inn
Marriott

Room Tip: ask the counter for room advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calikid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a birthday getaway weekend and had a fabulous time. From the moment we hit the driveway every employee we encountered at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa was friendly, courteous, and eager to see if there was anything that would make our stay more enjoyable. The valet, bell, front desk, housekeeping and restaurant/lounge staff are first rate. We had a beautiful ocean view room and are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Colleen,

Thank you for your glowing five-star review of your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I wish you a belated Happy Birthday and thank you for celebrating at the Plaza. I am pleased you enjoyed the amenities and the guest service provided by our staff. I look forward to sharing your review with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manger
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I took my wife and two children to the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa and were very pleased with our experience. We kind of knew what to expect based on the very good reviews we had seen and the video on their website, but we had a even better time. The spa staff were incredibly helpful and helped us enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime jacuzzi stay overlooking Monterey Bay while sipping Champagne! Martha was awesome nad stayed a little later than their normal closing time to give us time to shower and change. She refused a tip, when offered afterwards. The bell captain helped us plan our trip across the 17 Mile Road and into Carmel-on-the-Sea the next morning. He recommended an outstanding restautrant, Dametra Cafe, which was awesome.

Room Tip: A balcony adds a nice touch. We spent more time there than we throught. A balcony with an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Gilbert,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your detailed feedback of Vista Blue Spa and deeming it an once-in-a-lifetime experience. That is a wonderful compliment. I will share your review with Martha, as she will be delighted to hear from you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Planned a one night trip for my family for mine and my wife's 7th year anniversary and we all loved it. This hotel is great for everyone of all ages. We picked the room with the ocean view, and wow, you really do get the ocean view. Our room was right over the water and we were literally watching the waves right under us. Our room was nice, staff was friendly, the restaurants were wonderful, and the location is great, This truly was a great experience and I do plan on returning again.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best, but if you are a light sleeper, beware of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $226 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing