We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The monterey plaza hotel was a great getaway with my two teacher friends. We stayed two nights on a Monday and Tuesday, I had a king-size ocean front room with balcony and they have an adjoining oceanfront room with No balcony. Room 2323 was the king and room 2325 was the two queens. Wonderful sounds of waves crashing throughout the day and night and sea lions chatting and otters bobbing up and down were great sounds to hear in the morning. Binoculars were provided to Lookout to the beautiful views. Would have preferred an oceanfront in another building to get more of a vast view because to the left of us was another part of the building that blocked any southern views.
Chose to go up to the hot tub at around 4 o'clock one afternoon. Absolutely gorgeous day out, beautiful views and were the only ones there for quite a while.
Chart house right next door was a wonderful dinner and also fantastic view!

Room Tip: Choose to have a room over near the schooners building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,637
    768
    215
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,398
2,174
130
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Monterey plaza overnight. Beautiful location and lots of space on the property. Included valet parking is nice as well. Hot tub and spa on the roof is nice and relaxing and also included with the rate. Rooms are nice but beds are way too soft. Overall impression of the hotel: good location but I would expect more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We never had to leave our room as we had the best view in Monterey. We had room service every night and could watch the ocean and wild life without having to get dressed up. The view was amazing and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The beauty of this hotel and the setting are matched only by the wonderful staff. In particular, the young lady at the front desk "Nani" and her supervisor went out of their way to insure that our stay was an absolute pleasure. This is a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location, but it was the staff's kindness that made this one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The rooms with Monterey Bay views cost more, obviously, but they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read you had one of your best vacations ever. I am pleased to share your feedback with Nani and the Front Office team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went to Monterey Plaza Hotel for a quick Valentines get away, From the Valet's who literally run to greet you at your car, to the excellent staff (Myrna especially) at front desk, to Antoinette in the spa, to the service at Schooners and the excellent steak and lobster dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed our selves and would recommend to anyone. The location is so close to everything too! We upgraded to an ocean view room and just loved it! Could people and ocean watch all day! Thanks to all for a memorable time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your generous five-star review and celebrating Valentine’s Day at Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel. I look forward to sharing your review with Antoinette, Myrna and the entire Plaza team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for Valentine's day was very refreshing! Their beds are to die for, and the breakfast delicious and not too expensive. Plus it was included (Bed & Breakfast package).
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte_Francisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I just had the pleasure of staying at the Monetery Plaza Hotel and Spa. From the moment you walk in to the moment you check out, the staff welcomes you with open arms, assists you with everything from local recommendations and directions.
But the highest complement I can give them, is their compassion. While there, I took ill and was unable to get to a pharmacy to obtain medication. The staff went above and beyond and was able to send a bellman to pick up my medication (over the counter) at the local CVS and deliver to my room in record time. They could not have been nicer or more understanding.
While there I also had a spa treatment, a facial that I highly recommend. I'm still glowing.
Thank you again everyone - it was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. I go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojom1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The greatest compliments we can receive highlight the exceptional guest service by our associates. In addition, I am pleased you enjoyed your treatments at Vista Blue Spa. I hope you are feeling better and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing