We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Badly Needed Recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Badly Needed Recharge”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a hectic holiday season I was in desparate need to simply get away and recharge. Having lived in Monterey for four years prior to coming to the San Francisco Bay Area, I have always loved Monterey. So after clocking out from work on December 24 I got in my car and drove the 3 hours from Oakland to Monterey and now I wish I had stayed longer. The staff at the Monterey Plaza Hotel have always been the best and they did not disappoint. From check-in to obtaining a reservation at their excellent restaurant Schooners all the way until check out, I never observed anything but the best from the staff. The room was comfortable, the Monterey area never disappoints and my short stay accomplished the goal of getting me back to an even footing so that I could return to work and face the grind once again. Now I find myself wanting desparately to get back there but will have to content myself, at least for now, remembering this short but very relaxing trip. Thank you to all the staff and to Lorinda from Schooners. Your advice about the Mahi Mahi was spot on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danothetravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for the generous 5-star review – we’re delighted to read your stay was relaxing. It’s fantastic that you found the food and service at Schooners “spot on”, I look forward to sharing your review with Lorinda and the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,469
    725
    205
    98
    44
See reviews for
1,309
2,078
124
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The spa on the roof is wonderful. Furnishings top notch. Nice little touches like the nightlights that automatically go on in the rest room and a dock for one's IPod/IPhone. Staff is very attentive and proactive. Most all rooms are nice - some better than the others. I prefer the building which has easy access to the roof spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natureboy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Monterey Plaza emanates with relaxation. As soon as one walks in the lobby, an ocean view welcomes you with the soothing sights and sounds of the hypnotic waves. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The balcony in the room was an added touch to relax and take in the fresh air. Breakfast at Schooners was fresh and delicious. The bed pillows were not so comfy, but other than that, the room was great.

Nice location to walk to Cannery Row and the Wharf. A more diverse selection of restaurant choices requires a short drive to downtown Monterey. Cibo's was a delicious and pleasant dining experience, and more reasonable than the pricier restaurants on Cannery Row.

We'd return in a heartbeat-- we didn't want to leave this slice of Paradise!

Room Tip: Ocean view would be best. Stay away from loading dock, especially on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our latest stay was enjoyable as usual. We sometimes take for granted the staff here. But, every employee was great. We enjoyed a couples message at the spa and that was delightful. Our ocean front room was superb. We are retirees but still enjoy a romantic get away. Thank you Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms with a balcony are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sthiede47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

First time at the Monterey location and it far exceeded our expectations. Since I have stayed many times at one of their other 4 affiliated locations I expected it to be equally superb, and I was not disappointed. Excellent top shelf accommodations, service and staff, but unfortunately a little $pendy.

Room Tip: The extra expense for a ocean view is considerable and nice, but not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitude46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Monterey Plaza Hotel is our favorite destination on the coast. The ammenties are amazing, the staff are attentive and the location cannot be beat. Our personal favorite is the deck at the spa overlooking the bay; hot tubs, fireplace and it just doesn't get better than that!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rnaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a bias review, because I got a ridiculous deal on KAYAK for the room, so I was already on a high. My girlfriend and I were hiking in Big Sur all morning, so we checked in wearing dirty clothes, but it didn't matter. The staff were so professional, kind, and ultra friendly. They offered me an upgrade which I took, and a waterfront room is a MUST! Rolling surf and Sea Lion calls echoed through the room. The room was perfect, very classy, comfortable bed is an understatement, the room service presentation amazing, and the grounds are impeccable. Its a short and nice walk to the Aquarium and restaurants. Gentlemen, treat your women and book a night. Its worth it.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more sound is filtered from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing