We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are great, but the service is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the property for a long weekend. The staff are helpful and courteous, Schooners Manger Colleen went out of her way to be sure we had a cheese plate to match our wine. Well within walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Husband and I rented kayaks and bikes from the store right next to the hotel, very convenient. The hotel lives up to the rating in plushness and room size. Will be back to Monterey, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms can even be on the back property building. Be sure to specify if you will get a ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texas_traveler750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location to local shops, restaurants and activities. I will gladly share your review with Colleen. I hope you will have the opportunity to return.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,838 - 2,844 of 4,989 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I visited here for our birthdays. We had an excellent time. The staff was professional and friendly. We loved it! We had an ocean view room with a balcony and could hear the waves throughout the time we were in the room. Soothing. Close to shops, restaurants and the aquarium. We dined at Schooners twice and had fantastic service with great food. My wife took advantage of the spa and thoroughly enjoyed it. We highly recommend the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa.

Room Tip: If you like the ocean waves, get the ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TS5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Monterey Plaza for a Conference for 1 week. This is a truly outstanding hotel. It is in a superb location with many of the bedrooms looking over the sea, and families of sea otters can be seen playing in the water beneath the room's balconies! The staff are helpful and professional, and the facilities of the hotels are first class. The main sites of Monterey are in easy walking distance, and Pacific Grove and 17 mile drive are nearby. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony looking across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as the start of our drive down the coast. Great location. Hotel room comfortable with ocean lapping underneath. Watching sea otters,pelicans in the bay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the foid overall. Obe night my fish was overcooked and dry. Taken off the bill with no arguments etc. The roof top spa is worth a visit.Good base to go and do 17 mile drive, visit Carmel. Pebble Beach has to be seen to be believed. Stunning!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nerys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights during late September. Rooms were beautiful. We had an ocean view right over the water . Both the bar and restaurant were wonderful places to relax and dine. The valet service was prompt and courteous. There are wonderful walking paths right outside the door. And the shops of Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium are all within easy walking distance

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A spa package week-end with my Bay area friend on my way back to New Zealand was a perfect experience! Our room was beautiful, waterfront location on Monterey Bay glorious & convenient and the most pleasant helpful hotel staff imaginable. In fact, we received two late check-outs on Sunday to accomodate us watching the America's Cup races from the privacy of our room (THANK YOU MYRNA!!!) The valet staff and conceriege professional and friendly. The spa treatments were brilliant and the breakfasts at Schooner's delicious. Music in the lounge during cocktail hour was fantastic! This well experienced traveler gives everyone & everything a perfect 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: A room facing the ocean may be best if you don't like the smell of seaweed in a north-east facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyfilled777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I will share your compliments with the team. I am glad you found our location and service to be exceptional. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manger
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was plesently suprised by the nice level of service and amenities in this hotel. You will feel very comfortable in the room. It is very clean and attended. The restaurant and especially the bar is fantastic view. Jesse at the bar is one of those that makes the bar a fun place to be for dinner, after dinner or any time you want to hang out. This time the bar makes the hotel a fun place. Great sea food, views and location at the front end of cannery row.

Room Tip: Get a balcony ocean view on third floor or SPA floor if you plan to use it. You will share the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRIPDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $250 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing