We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, staff, restaurants and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, staff, restaurants and view”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay - to the valet assisting us to the reservation desk to help as I needed to assist my Mom...to the absolutely beautiful, spacious, impeccably clean room, delicious food and view of the bay....Monterey Plaza Hotel is my most favorite hotel and destination on the Monterey Peninsula. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,453
    720
    205
    98
    44
See reviews for
1,296
2,072
124
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was an overall wonderful trip! The hotel is in a great location with a great view. The staff are extremely helpful and the hotel is very clean. Food in all three of there restuarant/cafes was delicious. The bed was incredibly comfortable! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena, CA.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly what a great location .From our suite we could watch Sea Otters ,Seals ,Birds and Dolphins.It was like watching T.V, there was something happening the whole time .The rooms were clean and very comfortable . I loved our view ,so much so we spent an extra night . The staff were lovely and very helpful . I loved the restaurant and ate there every night .The Cafe is great and the muffins wonderful .I thought the food and wine pricing in the hotel was very fair . You can easily get wine for under $30 a bottle .It would never happen in San Francisco.
So what are my issues .The house car is hit or miss ,they left us waiting for 50 minutes in a shopping center when they said it would be 15 .We tried to use it to the airport and back ,no luck all booked .If they had a problem they could call and let us get a taxi.The gym is nice but aged ,my spin bike was broken as was other equipment . Spa staff are very nice .Internet was a pain as we kept getting the Chart House connection and would have to reselect the Hotel .If you close down you have to accept again at the hotel .Sometimes 6 times a day .In the end I just left my Mac on .We extended our stay one night but they did not update there records and we were locked out of our room .It is a long walk back to reception ,the hotel is huge .At the end of the day would I come back ,yes .We had a great time and as I said at the start loved our stay. This is why I am still going to give it 5 stars .

Room Tip: Water is expensive at the hotel $4 a bottle .There is a CV'S a few blocks away.The Spa tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 2 days at this hotel last week. After a 2 week road trip from L.A to Vegas then Yosemite we rate this as the best hotel and we have stayed in some nice ones, including the Bellagio in Vegas! This hotel has a quiet elegance. The staff are unbelievable. They go out of their way to do anything for you. The rooms are spacious and the bed is very comfortable. The hotel hangs over the bay with amazing views of the water and local wildlife. The hotel is well situated and you can walk to everything you want to see. We hired bikes and road the bike path which was fantastic. Unfortunately the spa level was closed for refurbishment but we are so glad we booked this hotel and I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiggytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at the hotel. After our last stay we had signed up on their email list and capitalized on a special 48 hour sale. Our room, a partial ocean view was perfect, it was well appointed and just the right size for two. My wife and I enjoyed waking up to the otters frolicking in the kelp beds. The barking seals at the coast guard pier might be a consideration for anyone sensitive to it, but that was all part of the ocean experience, which included the soothing undulation of the waves lapping at the shore. Located at one of Cannery Row, we spent a few days at the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and enjoyed a behind the scenes tour. It was interesting to learn the history of the area, some of the aquarium has incorporated the actual boilers from one of the canneries that inhabited the site previously. There is a wide variety of restaurants to chose from, but we grabbed breakfast a few times in Schooners. The fresh fruit is awesome. A sign in La Strada notes that the Strawberries are farm to plate fresh- gives a whole new idea to "day olds" (1-day). Having a car we did some shopping nearby in the Del Monte Centre (Macy's) and took a drive down into Carmel. Overall a very relaxing vacation. The staff were great, everyone there will do everything they can to make your stay perfect. Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get on the mailing list and watch for the specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is our first time staying at this hotel and it far exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We brought our 2 year old and they put outlet protectors on all the electrical outlets. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and each birthday person got chocolate covered strawberries and $20 off at the hotel restaurant (which was also very good). I can't say enough what a wonderful experience we had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortcutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The inside of the hotel is very nice. We just got a basic room facing cannery row with some ocean view and the room was nice but its kinda small. The location is great. We can walk to fisherman's warf one way and cannery row the other. I will warn that if you have a convertible and you valet, make sure to take every valuable out of the car bc they didn't put the top up so anyone could walk by and take your stuff even tho they say it's a "closed garage" we walked right in

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing