We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect location for a wedding reception or romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect location for a wedding reception or romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Monterey Plaza and stayed there for three nights following that. This hotel is very classy and the awesome staff made our visit very special and memorable. We stayed in an ocean view room free of charge on our wedding night, and for a discounted rate for the next two nights. We enjoyed our wedding cake that had been saved for us and artistically arranged with our wedding flowers on plates, as well as complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne, while we listed to the crashing waves outside; it was such a romantic setting and so lovely! The staff was very helpful and accommodating, especially Alexis Davis, the Catering Manager. She corresponded with me for months working out the details for our wedding reception, gave recommendations to help us make the best choices for our event, and always responded to every question I had in a very timely manner; she was extremely patient and never acted annoyed with my ongoing list of questions, but rather diligently answered each one. She is very organized and so informed on every aspect of event planning for the hotel! She is an amazing asset to the Monterey Plaza team!

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Anne,

Congratulations! Thank you for selecting Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for your wedding nuptials. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your special day and found the hotel classy and staff awesome. I have provided your compliments to Alexis. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,202
    647
    178
    88
    40
See reviews for
1,173
1,923
114
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We would like to especially thank Andy (bell services), xandrix (room service) and Greg (bell services). Xandrix brought us chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary and he was delightful to talk to.....amazing customer service and heart! Greg also had excellent customer service skills and went above and beyond to ensure we felt welcomed at your establishment. Finally, Andy was very kind and helpful; he even remembered our name from last night, which made us feel special. Everyone at your hotel was helpful and kind, but these three gentlemen truly stood out as exemplary and we would like to thank them from the bottom of our hearts for making our anniversary so memorable and special. They made our stay worth coming back , so we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueyez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Monterey Plaza. We couldn't get an ocean view room, but our room - second floor, directly across the street from where you drive into the hotel and register - was surprisingly quiet. The room was decorated well and was very clean. There were complimentary robes and plenty of towels and a small refrigerator and small coffee pot. It's true the balcony was laughably small, but it was appreciated because you could open the sliding doors and get fresh air and it was just pleasant to be able to sit outside and read the paper and hang out our wet swimsuits after using the hot tub. We ordered room service for breakfast both mornings and the food was very good, arrived right on time and was the proper temperature. We had dinner at Schooners. My swordfish was good; my daughter's fish stew had some crab and shrimp that was a little fishy. That was a disappointment since the broth, fish and clams in it were very good. We ordered the angry shrimp appetizer and liked that a lot. The bellman requested a "view" table for us for dinner, and we were seated in a booth looking at the bay - it was just lovely. I think what I liked most about this hotel was that every staff member we met was friendly and helpful. There wasn't an "attitude" to be found, even at the spa. My daughter had a massage and said it was very well done (she has had many in other hotels) and the staff there were very friendly also. The aquarium was within easy walking distance, but we were immediately offered a free ride when I expressed concern about the walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelaunt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We returned to this hotel to see more of the Monterey/ Carmel area. We had a balcony room overlooking the bay and it was terrific. You have room to sit out and have morning coffee or a glass of wine and just sit and enjoy the otters, the boats and the seals and sea lions. No surf to speak of at this time of the year, the bay laps quietly. We found the staff to be just superb, the Schooner's restaurant very good and consistent and the support staff for all areas from the valet to the front desk, genuinely helpful and interested in making our stay the best it can be. The local food sourcing and their choice of a winery to feature were both first rate. The wait staff is excellent too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay. It is worth it for more than a one night stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Water is scarce in the area and they do a good job of mediating their impact.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved Monterey but the best part was this hotel. If we are ever lucky enough to go back, we would not go anywhere else. It is located right in the middle with cannery row to the right and the wharf to the left. We didn't need our car. We have stayed in many world class hotels and this was the very best. From the initial person who took our reservation till the valet when we left, everyone was great. Ask for room 1206 and you will understand. You look straight down into the tide pool and see all sorts of things - better than the aquarium!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was a real find. It has an excellent location at Cannery Row, a superb view of the Bay, near the aquarium, modern rooms and facilities and a good staff. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and just reasonable for dinner. They did not have the wine we ordered and since it was a California Pinot in the heart of the terroir, that was surprising and the seafood stew was only fair. But there are many restaurants in the area to choose from so the dinner experience would not deter me in the slightest from going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san franciso, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This review is specifically for the Vista Blue Spa, but from what I saw of the hotel (and the customer service I received), I would definitely like to stay here in the future.

I needed to plan a bachelorette party in Monterey and, after doing some research, chose a spa day at the Vista Blue Spa at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. I emailed the spa and heard back fairly quickly from Andrea, who was such an amazing help. She helped me put together a day for five of us including lunch and treatments. She even caught that I booked a foot scrub with the bride's massage, which wasn't necessary given that I also booked a pedicure for her- this clearly shows they care more about customer happiness than making money. When we arrived at the spa, Andrea was there and was fantastic in person, too. She had reserved lounge chairs for each of us and once all the girls were on the patio, she brought out our lunch which included little welcome gifts. She also brought us each a complimentary glass of champagne. The bride, and the other girls, couldn't stop gushing about how amazing our day was and I have Andrea to thank. If you are thinking of booking a spa day at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, Spa Director at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your glowing review of Vista Blue Spa and choosing us to celebrate your bachelorette party. I am pleased that you and your party enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be exceptional. I will share your kind words with Andrea.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sue Ushakoff

Spa Director

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing