We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location, awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome location, awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am fortunate to travel extensively and nicely!
This hotel is on par with the best hotels in the world. The location is fantastic and the back bar and deck are outstanding, overlooking Monterey bay!
Breakfast wonderful, basically its a "must stay" when in Monterey area.

Room Tip: Stay on the water side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Graham,

What a compliment to read that you feel Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa is a “must stay” and on par with the best hotels in the world. Thank you and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Monterey.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,298
    681
    185
    93
    43
See reviews for
1,235
1,974
119
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

we got here after the reviews we read. super hotel,very elegant,great fitness room. you must take the sea view with balcony room. i recomend to have it in the main building.
we loved eating in the shooners restaurant.
the service was great.

Room Tip: room with a sea view and a balcony in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yossixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa and overall the experience was quite good. It is conveniently located on the waterfront next to Chart House and other restaurants and is within easy walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium.

The partial ocean view room was nice, however the price was increased significantly due to the Pebble Beach Concours which was taking place at the time. ie: $599. per night plus tax and resort fee, with a four night minimum.

The hotel features a small, but relaxing spa with two rooftop jacuzzis, exercise equipment, and a dry steam and a co-ed sauna. Valet parking and internet are included in the resort fee, however I don't believe that there is self-parking on the premises or at least it wasn't available while we were there.

There is a "Starbucks" like coffee shop on the premises and an outstanding restaurant with beautiful views of the water and the peninsula downstairs.

The lobby had live entertainment and a warm fireplace. Overall I would probably stay there again, however the price was quite steep and for that amount you could stay at many of the finest resorts on Pebble Beach. I realize that it is all up to supply and demand, but location, although good is not as nice as Carmel or Pebble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My daughter and I walked into the lobby of this hotel without reservations earlier this month. Wes was assisting us and listened to our desire to stay for 4 nights if possible. He was FANTASTIC in arranging our stay and explained the need to change rooms due to capacity and made our room transfer seamless. He also helped us the next day obtain aquarium passes. His professional and helpful attitude were the key to making the decision to call this wonderful hotel home over those four days.
PS The rooftop spa and bay views are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Monterey plaza was a wonderful experience. We would definitely return. All of the staff were very courteous and helpfull. The location is very accessible and walking distance to excellent restaurants as well as the aquarium.

Room Tip: We had partial ocean view and could view sea otters and other sea life.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is environmentally friendly. Linen reuse program Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Window films help keep building cool Efficient ventilation system Temperature set to save energy Education for guests on green practices
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be invited to Car week for the Quail Motorsport and Pebble Beach Concours D'Elegance events. A group of us stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and it was if we were part of the events from the moment of arrival. The hotel is well located, with only a short walk to area restaurants and shops. The in-house restaurants were also very good. But...lets talk about the Spa experience we had. The Vista Blue Spa was elegant, and we enjoyed lunch on the terrace afterward.. My husband and I booked separate massages and since he has some health issues to deal with he wanted someone that could customize to the amount of pressure he could handle. He had Sally, very capapble and very good. He told me it was the best massage he had in a long time, she got it right. My therapist was Peter Kimmish. A veteran therapist, the massage was tailor made to the pressure I could withstand. Peter was respectful of me, if I wanted to talk we talked, if I drifted off from the relaxing massage, he understood. At the end of 50 minutes, I felt and refreshed, and relaxed and wished I had booked 80 minutes! Excellence came thru with Peter Kimmish. If you go to the Monterey Plaza and want a massage to write about, I recommend Peter Kimmish as your therapist of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at the Portola Hotel and Spa in Monterey the first 3 nights in the city. The final night we decided to stay in an ocean front hotel. Paid more than double the price - over $800/night and while the view was beautiful, the service was not. They said they offered shuttle service to the Pebble Beach Concourse auto event that was going on. They took us their and said to just call for the return shuttle and when we did we were told it was not available and had to call a cab. We also asked for a half hour late check out and were told our room was booked and that they could not accommodate our request. For the price, you would have thought a half hour late check out would have been possible. Overall, very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing