We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Northern CA Gorgeous Ocean View...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Northern CA Gorgeous Ocean View...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with my husband for our honeymoon and came back many times for our anniversaries. This place is very luxurious and feels like a great retreat for couples. On the top roof there is a spa with jaccuzzi - overlooking the ocean, where couples can relax and enjoy the gorgeous views. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. Their restaurant is pricey but pretty amazing too, we loved all the foods there - very high quality. We came here about every year or ones in 2 years - it's a nice place for a couples get aways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,183
    638
    176
    88
    39
See reviews for
1,160
1,913
112
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I'm convinced that the only reason this hotel gets good reviews is because if you stay in the other hotels in the area you're likely to get mugged in your sleep. The walls are paper thin, the views of the ocean are obstructed, and the balconies are no more than a glorified windowsill. There's a rundown abandoned building next door that has the same lousy view for much less than what we paid for our room. As a matter of fact, I'm quite sure I ran into the homeless guy who lives there out on Cannery Row... of the locals we bumped into (including a con artist claiming to be collecting for the needy and an obvious pick pocket) he was the most pleasant encounter. I highly recommend staying away from Monterey altogether, but if you must stay there I would say this hotel is your best option. If nothing else, it was very clean and we did feel safe because it was free of the riffraff that lurks around Cannery Row.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kmd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your guestroom and were not able to experience a full view of the Bay.

As a destination, Monterey prides itself on being a safe city with wonderful dining and activities to appreciate. Cannery Row provides security to allow guests visiting to be in a safe environment that they can enjoy. The abandoned building next to the hotel is a Historical Landmark and the original home of a Sardine Cannery. I am sorry to hear that you weren’t pleased with your experience and the destinations attractions.

If you could please contact me directly, I would appreciate a personal conversation. I can be reached by phone at 831-645-4000 or by e-mail at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi

Vice President & General Manager

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Horrible service and organization. It was a gorgeous hotel and centrally located. I give it that. However that was all it had to offer. 

We arrived at 3pm and the valet (a required $25 charge) took our car. They seemed disappointed that we didn't want a bell hop but we didn't have that much luggage, so it hardly seemed worth it. The valet hovered around us until we gave him a tip for taking the car. Fine. We were then told that our room wasn't ready and they advised us to check the luggage. Fine. We did because we thought it would be an hour before we got the room. Our son went to use the bathroom and in the time it took him, the room was magically ready. Another hand out for tip for the bellman who stored our luggage for 5 minutes. We were annoyed but are easy going and happy to get on with our trip. 

The next day we took in all that Monterey has to offer. We took a ride on a Surrey bike and went to the aquarium. Both things fun and well worth it. At 4pm we went back to the hotel to rest up a bit and change clothing for the whale watching tour we had booked at 5:00. We were surprised to find that the cleaning crew had just gotten to the room. When I asked them if they could come back later, they told me to wait 15 minutes. I went to the desk and the clerk, with a big smile told me that they always cleaned the room at that time. I have travelled all over the world and have never had that happen before! Again, I let it go. What was the point in arguing?

In the morning I decided that I would make my own coffee only to find that there was only decaf with the in room coffee pot. By this time, I just wanted out. We packed up, called the valet and waited forty minutes for them to get the car. In the meantime we complained again. They offered us nothing but smiles and hands out for yet another tip. We were more than disappointed. We won't be back and we certainly won't recommend. 

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelingFamilyLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write and convey your concerns regarding your recent visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your guest room was serviced late in the day and your request for Housekeeping to return later was not taken into consideration by our staff. Furthermore, we should have fully stocked your room amenities with regular coffee.

In addition, we were disappointed to learn that the service you received from the valet was not to our standard. I can reassure you that this issue has been addressed with the appropriate staff members and management for corrective action. We pride ourselves on the premier service and accommodations that the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa is known for and when we fail to meet our guest’s expectations, we do not take these matters lightly.

If you could please contact me directly so that we may discuss your experience in detail, it would be greatly appreciated. I can be reached by phone at 831-645-4000 or by e-mail at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com.

Again, my apologies,

John V. Narigi

Vice President & General Manager

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved this hotel! The staff and service were both great, and the rooms were very nice and well-sized. Everything was very clean and comfortable -- but this hotel is much more than that!. We stayed in a partial ocean view, king room. Though we didn't have a balcony, there was a lot of ocean view for only being partial ocean view. For what we paid, this was an incredible value. Though we did not eat dinner at the restaurant, we did order breakfast, which was quite delicious. We were in the spa building, and the Jacuzzi at the top has great views over they bay.

The location was really good, too. It was not a long walk to Cannery Row, but was also not in the middle of all the noise that comes with Cannery Row.

Only one warning -- A lot of people (us included) drive to this hotel and valet (it's included in the hotel fees), so the valet can get quite backed up. Just make sure to give yourself plenty of time, since you may have to wait for your car a bit. However, the staff and valet attendants are very nice and helpful. It's not their fault the hotel is so popular!

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Monterey! We definitely would like to go back!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the MPH this past weekend for two nights while in the Monterey area for a special event. Great hotel in a great location with very attentive staff. Very short walk to both Cannery Row shops as well as Fisherman's Wharf area. Easy access and attentive valet service as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FutureChef_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow...need to get out of the heat? Get a nice balcony room bay side. Need I say more? Really the Cat's Meow! Beautiful room, great view, cool air and terrific service.
AAAHHH...this trips observation is coming and here was the only down side to this great property.
The coffee house vendor opens his doors at 6:00 am. This hotel property is a great place to view the Bay while sipping coffee and looking at a million dollar view from the hotel property. BUT when someone spends 500.00 plus dollars a nite to stay and you are woke up by coffee patrons with barking dogs down below your room it gets annoying. I can't tell you how disturbing it was to call the hotel front desk from my room at 7:15 am to tell them about a group of two females with 2 barking dogs below this million dollar view I spent major dollars on to get piece and quiet, listen to the waves and regain my sanity... to watch the security guards walk a tight rope of "who do I piss off"!!! This went on till after 8:30! really!!!!
Let me tell you who you piss off...the person that spent 5.00 not the person that spent 500.00. I did speak to the Hotel Manager. He was very appreciative to have a patron that gave a suggestion, paid to stay an extra night without a request for a monetary resolve. I love this property and will always come back. In the future I will be on the security team to make sure that no one will be allowed to ruin my beautiful morning again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room, value, staff, location, and overall property are excellent. The concierge made our stay special and helped in preparing everything for the weekend. All of my special requests that I had setup with the concierge in advance went smoothly. Furthermore, the last minute dinner reservations for the Chart House Restaurant were handled professionally by the concierge.

The Vista Blue Spa was a great experience as well. Overall our stay was perfect we look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your generous five star rating. It’s great to hear that the property was excellent and
that the concierge and spa assisted to make it a special weekend. I hope we have the
opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing