We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey anniversay trip 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were here June 2013 for our anniversary. Our room was in the spa building and had a view on the bay and ocean. It was great watching the sea otters from our balcony and the room provided binoculars which allowed us to see the dolphin. It was great! This is a fully service hotel with all amenities, valet, room service and maid service. We went to the spa which has great staff, very personable, I felt special. For dinner one night we went to the restaurant in the hotel Schooners Coastal Kitchen. The restaurant has great views and outstanding food. We decided to come here annually. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look for a groupon or travelzoo offer the price is up there with out one of thes offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgansfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,041 - 3,047 of 4,980 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Plaza for 3 nights on a mini Monterey vacation. We were so impressed by the great service and attention we received; it truly exceeded our expectations! The staff at the bell desk were extremely accommodating and friendly, offering a plethora of ideas for what to do and where to eat. The grounds around the hotel are gorgeous, with stunning views of the bay from their decks and restaurant. We frequented their cafe for snacks and coffee, and enjoyed dinner at Schooner's restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: We selected a room without an ocean view to save money, but were delighted to find a lovely garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Want to treat yourself to perfect, detailed luxury? Special occasion? Here you go.
-perfect beds.
-amazing robes.
-when did they do turn-down service? who knows. WHO CARES?
-when did they leave honeymoon gifties in our room and on our bed? who knows. WHO CARES?
-hot tub overlooking Monterey Bay with a perfect wind guard and an outdoor fireplace.
-I didn't try it, but my husband says the sauna was amazing.
-ice cream at midnight? Just call room service.
-waves crashing under, literally under, your room? Yes. Leave the door open overnight.
-binoculars perfectly placed so that you have them on hand the moment, the very moment, you think you might have seen a seal? Yes, yes, and more yes.
-room service for breakfast because, while Cannery Row is delightful, you won't want to leave the room until you have to? Yes, of course.
-noon checkout, because they know 11:00 a.m. is total BS? Yep.
-buying your tickets to the aquarium there so you don't have to wait in a long line? Wise.
-leaving your car there while you explore cannery row (valet is paid through 4)? Genius.

Enjoy, enjoy, breathe the sea air and enjoy.

I may never be able to afford to come back here, but it was the perfect once-in-a-lifetime trip. Amazing, and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from our CA summer vacation, our stay in Monterey Plaza was very enjoyable. The location is great, it's close to all there is to see & do in town, you can walk anywhere. The staff are friendly, helpful & efficient, from the front desk to the valet staff. Our room was nicely furnished, the housekeeping staff does a wonderful job with daily service & nightly turn down service as well. We found the hotel through Tripadvisor, we were not disappointed!!

Room Tip: If your going to be out & about the town take a garden view room as we did the saving will buy y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had no reservation on July 2 yet the staff accommodated us with no problem. The hotel is very nice, excellent customer service and very clean rooms. We were able to walk everywhere, dinner, breakfast and overall sightseeing. This hotel might be a little pricier than the others on Cannery Row, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nire0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Choosing a hotel is always agonizing because the pictures you see online do not always reflect the real state of things. The hotel is beautiful, and the positive ratings held true. We were able to walk places easily, and the outside dining areas at the hotel are really nice. The cafe also offers an affordable breakfast option.

Room Tip: I called instead of booking online, and I got a better rate than what came up the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneStrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and family recently stayed at this beautiful hotel in Monterey. It is truely an awesome property and one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. But mostly, the staff are the best trained hotel employees I have ever met. Each one knew our name, from the valets to the bellmen to the front desk. We could not have felt more welcomed.

I had planned on writing this review anyway, as we really loved the hotel and service. But after they retrieved a lost pouch with cash, keys and a passport from the safe in my room (which had already been turned over), I knew that I had to do it. We had left the hotel, and the managers coordinated the retireval of my valuables, and sent it via Fed Ex to our next destination. We are truly greatful.

You will not regret staying and enjoying yourselves at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $252 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing