We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this property and we experienced excellence from beginning to end. The location, right on the bay, is beautiful and relaxing. It is apparent that this hotel is well managed because the staff that we encountered were professional, courteous, and very accommodating. We travel a lot and rarely has a property risen to the level of the Plaza. If you are planning to stay in Monterey you will not be disappointed with the Plaza. We enthusiastically recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,045
    606
    163
    86
    36
See reviews for
1,112
1,817
110
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

great hotel great staff great bar great food great rooms great view great rooms
great great great great great does this meet your stupid two hundred character minimum no how about now not yet this sucks how about now

Room Tip: rooms w/ veiws spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwilliams814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was truly a wonderful hotel, staff was friendly and professional. Large lobby, grand piano and many floor to ceiling windows facing the bay. I felt safe and secure the entire time I was there. Large room with flat screen TV, wide and spacious drawers, a vanity counter and stool, safe in the closet and nice size bathroom. Free WiFi. I had an ocean view but it was a partial view with balconies to the left. I stayed only one night so next time I will ask for a full ocean view. Went up to the top, spa level where there are two outdoor jacuzzis with glass walls all around to enjoy the view of the bay, fireplace was lit, restroom, shower, lounge chairs, towels and ice water. Nicely updated hotel all around. It was wonderful eating and lounging outdoor at Schooners restaurant while I was waiting to check-in then went there for dinner, again another nice experience with great service and food. Great that they have a covered entrance to drive into for valet parking and bell desk service.

Room Tip: If reserving an ocean view room and staying for more than one night, request for a room that is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. They have clean rooms. Great cleaning and valet staff, and if you can afford it great views. It is also family friendly as they have large rooms with refrigerators, hallelujah! However, we got a deal booking earlier and so they made us go on the side of the hotel that is across the bridge (no view). I had no problem with that as our room faced green space. I did have two small issues to note/beware of. The first is that the hotel was reluctant to accommodate us when we tried to get a room at two instead of four pm. I had called ahead to say we would be arriving early. I understand the official, guaranteed check in is four, but we were traveling with a three year old and a two month old. Most high end hotels we have stayed at, e.g. Four seasons, Hyatt, etc. will get you a room as we all know there are rooms available before four. Here they gave me push back and finally after two calls and a desk visit got us a room after three and acted as if we should be extra thankful. Second complaint, though again minor, they put us in the most inconvenient location. We were on the second floor building three. This means that we had to go up the elevators to the third floor cross an interior catwalk over the street. Go down then left then into another elevator to go to the second floor. If just me and my husband whatever. But, with two kids and a stroller not to mention all the kid accommodating accoutrement you have to travel with it was both inconvenient and felt like we were being punished for our 45 min early check in. Not too cool. That being said, nice hotel. We live near monterey and will be back in the area though still might consider investigating potentially other properties if they were as nice and a bit more accommodating with the kids. And, I forgot to mention my husband wanted me to note that the lack of a pool was disappointing given the price point.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on any floor of building three other than the third floor if you do t want to hav...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cfobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my third trip to Monterey and first stay in this hotel. I requested a quiet room upon reservation since I'm a light sleeper. They gave me a quiet room. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. It's right on the ocean and its restaurant, lobby, and public areas provide the best ocean views of the city. The hotel employees are helpful and pleasant --everywhere I see them I receive a cheeful greeting. It is obvious that the hotel staff is run by a top-notch manager who does the best training on his team. The hotel restaurant and cafe provide excellent food and service; I ended up dinning there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner everyday during my stay. I stayed for 3 nights, and will have a long lasting memory of this hotel. Keep up the great work! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelyn149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay and absolutely loved this hotel! Location is perfect, walking distance to lots of great restaurants and shops, view from our ocean front corner suite was second to none. Slept with balcony doors open at night and fell asleep listening to the waves. Balconies are a bit small but still enough room to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the sea otters play. Room came with a good pair of binoculars so it was easy to spy on the otters and seals. Room also came with a pair of comfy bathrobes but for the pricier suites, I was surprised a pair of terry cloth slippers weren't also included as is the norm with this calibre of resort . We dined at Schooners for our anniversary and the meal was superb, and we also made use of a couples package in the Vista Blue Day Spa, also top notch. Kudos to Hilary at the concierge desk and all the staff from the parking valets, to the waiters to the room service staff and the therapists in the day spa...everyone was highly professional. We also made use of the fitness room and the roof top jacuzzi which were clean and modern. I hope someday to return .

Room Tip: If you can afford the splurge, treat yourself to a corner ocean view balcony suite
See more room tips
Green Features: Wish there was a blue can for recycling in the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz,ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a 60th birthday celebration- the staff is very friendly and are very helpful giving you tips of the area and the hotel- the customer service is great- you can tell the staff enjoys working for the property. At the last minute we decided to cancel the off-site dinner reservations we had to dine at the Schooner Coastal Kitchen-so happy we dined here- the food, service and view is outstanding- highly recommend the restaurant. the property is beautiful- rooms are very clean- our stay was short but very relaxing- we live close to to Monterey (in Santa Cruz) and will for sure be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesantacruzqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing