We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$269
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$165
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$106
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,439)
Filter reviews
5,439 results
Traveler rating
4,139
869
255
118
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,139
869
255
118
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschooners restaurantduck clubcannery rowocean viewbeautiful hotelsea ottersbell deskvalet parkingturn down servicefire pitvalet servicesound of the wavesresort feewonderful staypebble beachmile drivebig sur
Filter
Updating list...
3,575 - 3,580 of 5,439 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location, on the water. Not very kid friend because there is no pool or hot tub but a very romantic stay of us grownups. Love the firepit outside and location in Cannery Row. We called the day of and were offered very good pricing options. We made the mistake of not jumping at a ocean front room and by the time we traveled to the hotel, they had sold out of them and there was no upgrades... our fault, just don't make our mistake! Take the ocean view room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you plan to stay in Monterrey/Carmel area for an extended time (more than the one night we stayed) definitely stay at this hotel and be sure to get an ocean view. Sleeping to the sounds of the ocean are incredible and seeing otters playing right outside your window was amazing. Everyone was friendly from the moment you enter the hotel until you leave! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drinker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for just a few days in celebration of completion of my Masters Degree and could not have chosen a better hotel. The location, the spa, the resteraunt (Schooner's) were all fantastic! We often stay at 4-5 star hotels and can say this was one of the best. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GandKWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to San Francisco. We wish we had limited our trip to Monterey only. This is a spectacular place with incredible rooms, service and views. It was absolutely PERFECT. We will come back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank megan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Megan,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am glad you found us and hope that you now feel you have a home away from home in Monterey.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi

Vice President and General Manager

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick overnight getaway. We live only an hour and a half away from Monterey and we made a last-minute decision on a Saturday morning.

If you want waterfront views, this place is great. The location is quiet, around the corner from the main busy Cannery Row shops. There are really nice large balconies over the water for views and there is a large outdoor fire-pit.

The service was excellent, from the minute we drove up to when we left.

The reason for the average rating lies with the quality of the rooms and the food. We had an ocean front, queen room. We paid $350 for one night (including the taxes). If we had paid around $250 I would give this hotel a much higher rating. But for the price, the rooms were extremely average. It was the business-traveler type bathroom with one small sink and a bathroom/tub combo. There wasn't even any nice tile around the shower. I would expect a separate shower and tub for this price or at least two sinks. And the decor is quite dated. Keep in mind, we are very picky travelers, but again, for the price this should be much nicer.

The second reason for the average rating is the food. We had read reviews that the restaurant was excellent so we made dinner reservations. The food was again, average. It wasn't bad but it wasn't good. The chef just isn't very skilled in what ingredients to put together. Even ravioli, which is pretty basic, was overcooked and broken up so all the filling was coming out. Ravioli is supposed to be slow cooked so it does not break open.

We had a great, relaxing trip and loved the views. But we would probably stay, next time, down the street just in Pacific Grove where there are many beautiful B&B's and Inns that front the water. We could probably pay the same amount, have breakfast included, and a much nicer room at one of these B&B's in Pacific Grove.

Room Tip: You must get an ocean facing room or it's not worth paying up at this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews