We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great place- make sure to request FULL ocean view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Such a great place- make sure to request FULL ocean view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my fourth visit to this hotel.

Two minor disappointments this time: 1) I had expected the same spectacular small balcony with full ocean view I had 3 times in the past, with binoculars to watch the otters lolling in the kelp, but this time the same "ocean view" looked back on a busy public patio and at the shore. In comparison, I would call it a partial ocean view (see photo) and just wish that had been clear at booking; 2) I spent an optional $100 for a 3pm check out, and called early to ask them to remove the room service breakfast trays and leftovers, but six hours later they had not come to take them away.

Still, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Monterey. This hotel has a lovely lobby, with big chairs and couches and a fireplace, that is perfect for meeting up with friends or sitting with a book. I hate feeling like I am at a conference hotel, even when I am at a conference, and this meets my needs. There is an evening bar, and they had a live jazz singer on Saturday. Downstairs is a restaurant with both casual and more formal dining options, and meeting rooms. Both levels overhang the ocean.

I have stayed both with and without small kids, and they are welcome and easily managed (to the relief of other guests) due to the fluid indoor/outdoor configuration. Cannery Row and the aquarium to one side, and Fisherman's Wharf to the other, are within a short walk. I attend a conference each year at the Portola and I walk there.

Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished (see photos). The rooms I have been in had a stocked honor bar, but no separate refrigerator or microwave.

All of the staff, from the front desk, to bell service, to valet (no self park), were friendly and competent. The staff are probably the best feature of the hotel. I go to Monterey a few times a year, and I will continue to stay here, but I will be sure to request a full ocean-facing vie next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,204
    647
    178
    88
    41
See reviews for
1,174
1,924
114
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

After New Year is a great time to visit the Monterrey Plaza Hotel. It is a little better value and the town is quieter. It was such a pleasure to stay here. The service is wonderful! While we had a room without a view, it was still lovely and very comfortable. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Organic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

this review is LONG overdue. like Memorial Day 2012, overdue. but, better late than never!

my wife and i stayed here for 2 nights/3 days and couldn't have asked for more. this hotel was perfect. the room was clean and nicely decorated. the views were gorgeous. the service was phenomenal. each and every employee of the hotel, from the valet guys, front desk, bellhop, restaurant personnel, etc., etc., were all simply awesome. the wife and i do our fair share of travelling and i have stayed at close to 50 different hotels (i used to travel a lot for work) and i can say the Monterey Plaza Hotel is up there with the best.

we also did a couples massage and spa treatment. awesome. and the price point was nice, too. much to my wife's thrill and excitement, whenever we travel, i MUST workout. not being able to lift weights really get's me grouchy! well, this hotel delivered in this category as well. the fitness center was quite impressive. it's situated on an upper floor along with the spa, wasn't cramped or crowded, had great views of the ocean, and had a good assortment of free weights, too. huge plus!

from the winery we visited, to the local restaurants we dined at, to this hotel, it was a perfect weekend. would love to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rob C.,

Thank you for the positive comments you recently posted about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you found the Vista Blue Spa and Fitness Center impressive. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President and General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was so impressed with the service from this hotel. My girlfriends and I stayed here last month and had the best experience, I already booked another night for next month so I can take my husband too! We were treated like royalty from the moment we pulled up until the moment we left. The bell staff and front desk staff were amazing; Raymond, Greg & Christopher all went out of their way to make our stay perfect!!! I highly recommend this hotel for a friends getaway or for a romantic couples getaway. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayoung328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The folks at the Monterery Plaza Hotel & Spa are professional, friendly, and provide outstanding service. On top of that, the views from the hotel are wonderful. Imagine eating your brunch while gazing out at a calm inlet and watching sea lions and otters with pelicans breezing by now and then. The place has all that you need to relax and escape from work worries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honu024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here two nights based on the high rating on Trip advisor. I Have stayed in the area at least a dozen times in the past 10 years, and I thought I stayed at all the great hotels in the area already. This hotel was amazing not just because of the rooms and cleanliness and location. It really is the amazing public spaces. The hotel complex is stunning. The spa is remarkable and the rooftop location is beautiful. Service, from the valet to the bellman and housekeepers were well trained, well informed and friendly.

Two thumbs up. Tom says, "Check it out!"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is right on the water with beautiful views. We had a room on the water and it was wonderful; heard the waves and dolphins and slept great.
The room service is so quick we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is beautiful; rooms large and impeccable. We like the amenities of the Woodside hotels and this one with the view of Monterey Bay is hard to beat.
Schooners Restaurant in the hotel has great fresh fish, nice staff.
Have been here twice and loved both visits. Had a wonderful facial in the spa.
The only thing to improve is the spa...the hot tubs on the roof are great but too small and for men and women together. Very crowded and not a private feeling.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to upgrade so you get the seaside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing