We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Every visit gets better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sanibel, Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Every visit gets better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We LOVE the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The staff is spot on, from valets and bellboys to front desk. All seem to be greatly invested in YOUR wonderful experience at the property.

The waterfront rooms are a must have. Open the sliding glass doors and experience the sounds, breeze and spectacular sights of Monterey Bay.

Room service food is not like the cold cardboard at most hotels, it is prompt, hot, delicious and elegantly served. If I had to choose a last meal, it might be the eggs Benedict with the finely cut crispy potatoes, a side of ripe local fruit and a little pot of perfectly brewed coffee.

Schooner's Restaurant is terrific with spectacular views and outdoor dining on the bay. The Spa is world class. All of this right next to Big Sur! My recommendation, GO!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanibelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,945
    579
    155
    86
    36
See reviews for
1,056
1,760
108
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolute luxury in a most stunning property. Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa absolutely deserves the number 1 Trip Advisor spot. Delightful staff and service was second to none. Schooners restaurant was superb. We look forward to returning here again in the future but would definitely stay longer. Congratulations to Management and staff on making this as sensational as it is.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years back on a trip up the coast. This is a special hotel and one that you would never forget visiting. We were awakened by the sound of Sea Lions in the morning which was amazing along with the views. The service was top and the spa also, overall a supreb place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Monterey Plaza this past weekend. The property is located right on the water overlooking Monterey Bay. Fantastic views, and great watching the otters and seals play in the ocean. The rooms are great, beds comfortable and nice decor. Schooners restarant has great food for all. My daughter had a blast. We ventured over to the Aquarium which is a short scenic walk along cannery row. This hotel is perfect for a Monterey get away.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoTayCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel (our third visit). Without exception, the staff members were polite and helpful. We ate both lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious. We visited the spa each day, enjoying both the workout area and outdoor pool. Finally, the massage was excellent. We would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

exceptional staff, exceptional facilities. the restaurant was exceptional as well. they do not over look a single detail. they are uber friendly and resourceful. thank you so much for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: our room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bufish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to the Monterey Plaza and the Monterey Bay Aquarium over the February 1st weekend. In short, we had a blast. She loved the ocean view room, the sea otters playing in the bay below, the giant luxury robe and - most of all - the breakfast room service that arrived in 20 minutes (promised in 25 - don't think I've ever had room service arrive that quickly!).

We ate dinner on Friday night at Schooners, the restaurant onsite at the hotel, which I highly recommend. It doesn't feel "touristy" at all (unlike the rest of Cannery Row). Menu is heavy on fresh seafood (which we loved), and we sat outside for the first part of dinner (until it got too cold).

Really can't point out any flaws in the Monterey Plaza. Great hotel, kid-friendly, easy walking distance to the Aquarium. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasantonTravelDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing