We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic weekend”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel (our third visit). Without exception, the staff members were polite and helpful. We ate both lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious. We visited the spa each day, enjoying both the workout area and outdoor pool. Finally, the massage was excellent. We would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,640
    768
    215
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,400
2,175
130
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

exceptional staff, exceptional facilities. the restaurant was exceptional as well. they do not over look a single detail. they are uber friendly and resourceful. thank you so much for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: our room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bufish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to the Monterey Plaza and the Monterey Bay Aquarium over the February 1st weekend. In short, we had a blast. She loved the ocean view room, the sea otters playing in the bay below, the giant luxury robe and - most of all - the breakfast room service that arrived in 20 minutes (promised in 25 - don't think I've ever had room service arrive that quickly!).

We ate dinner on Friday night at Schooners, the restaurant onsite at the hotel, which I highly recommend. It doesn't feel "touristy" at all (unlike the rest of Cannery Row). Menu is heavy on fresh seafood (which we loved), and we sat outside for the first part of dinner (until it got too cold).

Really can't point out any flaws in the Monterey Plaza. Great hotel, kid-friendly, easy walking distance to the Aquarium. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasantonTravelDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Monterey Plaza many times. It is definitely one of our favorite resorts. The facility is amazing and well located for walking. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The views are breath taking. It's a little pricey, but all of the nice hotels in Monterey are. This is one that is absolutely worth the money.

Room Tip: All of the ocean front rooms are spectacular....that is if you enjoy watching sunsets, sea lions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the years but the MPH is one of the few that I want to return to to enjoy all the hotel has to offer. I cannot fault the MPH for a thing, the staff can't do enough for you, always pleasant. The room was amazing with a view of the Bay any closer and you would be in the water. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in the past year or so that actually has an in room safe that works! The restaurant served a great breakfast, the Huevos Rancheros were so good that I had them two mornings in a row. Even the business meeting meals were top notch. The location of the MPH is only a ten minute walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium so I would recommend a 2 or 3 day getaway to the MPH.

Room Tip: Your at Monterey Bay splurge and get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Every stay at the MPH is memorable for one reason or another. I stopped trying to figure out why because everything at the hotel is off the charts. I now just show up and enjoy the experience wherever it presents itself. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The ocean view (actually the harbor as well) offers a wonderful look at the marine mammals that inha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gib S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is located perfectly on cannery row and is gorgeous, with a large deck/balcony over the ocean with views of the otters, ducks, and sea lions. And the restaurant (Schooners) on property was reasonably priced and had delicious food. The hotel layout is high class, the room rates reasonable and comperable to hotels near by and you can walk to all the fun shops on cannery row.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing