We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel-you will have a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel-you will have a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Monterey Plaza Hotel is fantastic and it's situated so well you can walk one direction to the aquarium & shops and the other direction to the wharf and you're not at either end with a long walk, perfect! Also the decor is luxe but comfortable and the staff must have excellent working conditions & training because everyone is so friendly, relaxed and helpful (or they know how to hire people who are that way naturally). If you sign up for their emails, you will get great discount offers and that would be a good time to try them out if you need to be watchful of your money. Sitting in the great room off the lobby, gazing at the ocean with your beverage of choice and taking in the sea air is relaxing when you're not out on their Plaza area, which has a a dolphin fountain and huge fire pit and restaurant outdoor seating etc. Someone gave me a Woodside Hotel group gift card and I used it to help pay for my stay-the best gift! Being by the ocean here and at this property is healing and healthy and relaxing (even with families).

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view room, great, but staying in any room works because you have the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,284
    681
    185
    93
    43
See reviews for
1,232
1,964
119
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great hotel! Service was first class, the rooms were gorgeous, clean comfortable. We had a wonderful. romantic and breath taking view of the ocean on our patio, right on Monterey Bay! The hotel staff was impressive in their level of service. Definitely got the correct amount of service for the price. Had all of the amenities one would need. No need to walk anywhere if you don't, the car service was plentiful. I will definitley be visitng again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budman1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in carmel the first night (la Playa) and here for two nights. We reserved a ocean front/view room the first night but changed it to a higher floor partial view balcony room away from the beach area because of the loud surf. The ocean sounds beautiful during the day but we had a hard time sleeping at night because of the waves. The view of the ocean was very nice though. You can see some sea otters and sea lions swimming around in the bay and each room offers binoculars. My wife had a massage at the spa and she really enjoyed the spa there. Michael the concierge was very helpful and took great care of us. Schooners is an excellent restaurant but was closed the first night for renovations. We had an excellent server the second night (sarda i think). Overall, very good service from everyone there. its a little walk down to the rest of cannery row but its actually nice getting out of the traffic. Cafe la strada was not very good for breakfast/coffee. We really like Red House Cafe for that in Pacific Grove. A very good hotel 4.5 stars from me.

Room Tip: not 2227 or any area on the lower floors unless you like the sound of surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsublume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for some time. We are always impressed by the friendliness of the staff . We feel welcomed as soon as we arrive. The rooms are always clean and organized. The bedding and bathroom towels are always fresh and clean.The front desk and the bellmen are very attentive to our needs. My wife and I love the comfortable bed and decor. We always have a great time when we stay here. We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: We like to stay in a room close to the water with a Balcony . So we hear the waves crashing at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

What can I say but that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and all of the nice touches - like ice in the bucket, bath robes and chocolates on the night stand. Location is terrific. Hearing the ocean & the birds was very soothing. Balcony was nice to sit out on. Valet folks couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Would love to stay here again. Would highly recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAnnie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as a family of 4 with young teens. Ocean view room not cheap, but for a splurge we felt it was worth it. Great to sleep with sound of ocean, and binoculars in the room so we could watch the otters was really fascinating. Helpful staff, great location. Make sure you walk to the end of the pier to get really close to the sea lions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austtraveller255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband, 2-year-old and I stayed here around Christmas and, while we expected this to be a nice hotel, we were pleasantly surprised just by how great it was. It is a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area but we used a SniqueAway deal and it was more than worth it!

The place itself is just beautiful -- amazing views of the bay and classy decor throughout. It was such a treat to arrive here after a rainy drive from San Francisco on Christmas afternoon. The service was impeccable upon arrival -- the staff was very welcoming and helpful and we really appreciated the valet service that automatically comes with your stay.

The fancier rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzi tubs sounded great but we took the cheapest room option. But our room was still spacious and comfortable with even a nice little view looking down on to a courtyard. And we were pleasantly surprised by how large and luxurious the room was.

The location is also ideal. We wanted to stay close to the aquarium and, while this hotel isn't as close at the Intercontinental, it is still a short walking distance.

Last but definitely not least -- the spa on the roof of the hotel is not to be missed. I never even bought any spa treatments but still got to enjoy the sauna, steam room and rooftop Jacuzzi's. Traveling with a toddler is stressful, so taking a time out to unwind in a hot tub with amazing views of the bay below me was a special treat.

We will definitely be back next time we stay in Monterrey!

Room Tip: Visit the spa, even if you don't have any treatments scheduled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basscatSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing