We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Hideaway”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great hotel! Service was first class, the rooms were gorgeous, clean comfortable. We had a wonderful. romantic and breath taking view of the ocean on our patio, right on Monterey Bay! The hotel staff was impressive in their level of service. Definitely got the correct amount of service for the price. Had all of the amenities one would need. No need to walk anywhere if you don't, the car service was plentiful. I will definitley be visitng again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budman1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,637
    768
    215
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,398
2,174
130
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in carmel the first night (la Playa) and here for two nights. We reserved a ocean front/view room the first night but changed it to a higher floor partial view balcony room away from the beach area because of the loud surf. The ocean sounds beautiful during the day but we had a hard time sleeping at night because of the waves. The view of the ocean was very nice though. You can see some sea otters and sea lions swimming around in the bay and each room offers binoculars. My wife had a massage at the spa and she really enjoyed the spa there. Michael the concierge was very helpful and took great care of us. Schooners is an excellent restaurant but was closed the first night for renovations. We had an excellent server the second night (sarda i think). Overall, very good service from everyone there. its a little walk down to the rest of cannery row but its actually nice getting out of the traffic. Cafe la strada was not very good for breakfast/coffee. We really like Red House Cafe for that in Pacific Grove. A very good hotel 4.5 stars from me.

Room Tip: not 2227 or any area on the lower floors unless you like the sound of surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsublume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for some time. We are always impressed by the friendliness of the staff . We feel welcomed as soon as we arrive. The rooms are always clean and organized. The bedding and bathroom towels are always fresh and clean.The front desk and the bellmen are very attentive to our needs. My wife and I love the comfortable bed and decor. We always have a great time when we stay here. We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: We like to stay in a room close to the water with a Balcony . So we hear the waves crashing at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What can I say but that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and all of the nice touches - like ice in the bucket, bath robes and chocolates on the night stand. Location is terrific. Hearing the ocean & the birds was very soothing. Balcony was nice to sit out on. Valet folks couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Would love to stay here again. Would highly recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAnnie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as a family of 4 with young teens. Ocean view room not cheap, but for a splurge we felt it was worth it. Great to sleep with sound of ocean, and binoculars in the room so we could watch the otters was really fascinating. Helpful staff, great location. Make sure you walk to the end of the pier to get really close to the sea lions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austtraveller255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband, 2-year-old and I stayed here around Christmas and, while we expected this to be a nice hotel, we were pleasantly surprised just by how great it was. It is a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area but we used a SniqueAway deal and it was more than worth it!

The place itself is just beautiful -- amazing views of the bay and classy decor throughout. It was such a treat to arrive here after a rainy drive from San Francisco on Christmas afternoon. The service was impeccable upon arrival -- the staff was very welcoming and helpful and we really appreciated the valet service that automatically comes with your stay.

The fancier rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzi tubs sounded great but we took the cheapest room option. But our room was still spacious and comfortable with even a nice little view looking down on to a courtyard. And we were pleasantly surprised by how large and luxurious the room was.

The location is also ideal. We wanted to stay close to the aquarium and, while this hotel isn't as close at the Intercontinental, it is still a short walking distance.

Last but definitely not least -- the spa on the roof of the hotel is not to be missed. I never even bought any spa treatments but still got to enjoy the sauna, steam room and rooftop Jacuzzi's. Traveling with a toddler is stressful, so taking a time out to unwind in a hot tub with amazing views of the bay below me was a special treat.

We will definitely be back next time we stay in Monterrey!

Room Tip: Visit the spa, even if you don't have any treatments scheduled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basscatSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A must see and stay...Monterey plaza great choice...close to aquarium, shopping and restaurants. Comfort and ocean view added to the whole experience...didn't have a chance to enjoy the spa services, only would have topped the relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlc535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing