We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have stayed at the Monterey Plaza many times over the last 25 years, 1st time in 1987 when under a different management. The hotel provides a wonderful experience, didn't want to leave, with very well appointed rooms and attentive staff. The location can't be beat and there is nothing better than being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,554 - 3,560 of 5,219 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the years and it's a lovely place. You can often get great deals if it's not High Season and some include Aquarium tickets. Always ask!

My 2 caveats are these: 1)They have a very nice Fitness area and outdoor hot tub which looks out on the Bay but can only be used if you are 18 or older. I understand the rationale for this, but since we have 2 teenagers, it was a negative for us. We would have liked to have known this beforehand. Apparently there is a Sports Center in town which families can pay to use, but that was inconvenient. We had looked forward to working out and hot tubbbing together so it was a bit of a disappointment.
2) The restaurant was being remodeled when we were here so I shall try to be kind about the food. The breakfast was good, the lunch so-so. We had one dinner with service so bad that we ended up laughing about it, because it was so ludicrous. The Manager did come over and apologize and gave us free desserts so he did try to do the right thing. I can't really assess how it would be under normal circumstances, but I am just giving you fair warning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the Monterey Plaza and just as lovely as our first visit. A view of the Bay where we spotted playful sea otters. Impeccably cleaned with pleasing colors and amenities. Everyone used our name so it was very personal. A pleasant walk to the Aquarium along Cannery Row. The hotel limo took us to and from our restaurant so I didn't have to try to drive. Wow.

Room Tip: Bay view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithsaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Professional, friendly and personalized service - a great value. Stayed in ocean view accessible king with balcony due to other postings and was definitely worth it. A lovely, sun-warmed room was very appropriate for a December visit and we had a beautiful view of the plaza and bay. The room and furnishings were immaculate and we were completely at home. The staff made us feel very welcome and took the time to ask questions so that they might help us with our activities - without us needing to ask. Definitley will return.

Room Tip: You'll need to ask for extra pillows. I'll pass this on to others - get an oceanview room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a few nights over the Christmas holiday. It's in a great location for walking everywhere. Far enough away from Cannery Row but close enough to walk to Aquarium and restaurants at the wharf. The hot tub was amazing looking our over the Pacific. The rooms were very nice but overall the place is somewhat tired. The housekeeping staff comes twice a day...the ladies work really hard. Make sure you tip these gals people!! Tons of valet and bellman...long lines at the desk. I can't really put my finger on why it seems tired.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Beanie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great service except for checking in, we had to wait for our room to be available--beware that 4 pm is check in time! Other than that, fantastic! Nice room, nice bathroom, a bit small, but nice. Can walk to everything in town. The Spa was nice--we should have been hanging out there more--but oh well! Schooners, had really wonderful food, we has our fill of delicious crab!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel and spa. Staff was friendly and nice and we felt like "guests!" this is our 3rd annual post-holiday trip to Monterey Plaza hotel and we always have such a great time . The Spa is fanatastic - Martha was so welcoming and friendly - offering suggestiong to make our visit relaxing and made us feel special. Sara was an amazing massagage therapist and the treament was a terrific treat! We dined in Schooners for lunch and dinner and it was very good - the servers were friendly and recognized us from the previous day - it was just very comfortable and welcoming.
Can't beat the location and the ocean right there - so beautiful from the rooms and to take a good walk around. We will make next year the 4th annual for sure!

Room Tip: rooms over the plaza patio area are a little more "noisy " in that you see/hear people usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $244 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing