We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel many times. It is a beautiful place, right on the Bay with great views (if you are lucky enough to get an Ocean view). Schooners is fun and the Charthouse is next door and Cannery Row is within walking distance. The staff is terrific. I just made another reservation and Andy helped me and was so terrific.

Room Tip: Partial ocean views are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkysimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,141
    620
    171
    88
    37
See reviews for
1,133
1,886
110
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was blown away simply by walking in the door, the feeling that you were over the water was so special. Looking down from the terrace and seeing the sea otters paddling among the kelp, what more could you ask for! Rooms are great, staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food was excellent. Really enjoyed my stay there and hope to go back.

Room Tip: If your budget will take it aim for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at many places in Monterey, I have to say so far this is the nicest. The people were all very nice and you can't beat the view. The room was very comfortable and clean. Only complaint was my wife said the bathtub was uncomfortable. Would highly recommend the balcony rooms. The bonus was walking distance to great restaurants and thing to see. Never needed a car. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Anyone with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is one of my favorite and most memorable stays. Beautiful location, very convenient, walking distance to nice shops, stores, and restaurants. Beautiful dedicated walking and biking path that stretches miles along side ocean views. As you're walking make sure to take pictures, lots of beautiful scenic ocean views, you see whales. If you are able, make sure to get an ocean view room with full patio access. It feels like you're sitting on top of the ocean. At the hotel restaurant and from our room patio you can see the otters eating. I can watch them for hours, where one otter was very entertaining. During our stay we saw Paul Allen's (co-founder of Microsoft) yacht 'Octopus' docked close to our hotel with a helicopter parked on it. Beautiful hotel, nice staff, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get ocean views with full balcony. We left our patio doors open during our sleep and the loud sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel sits directly on the Monterey Bay, and has great outdoor spaces to enjoy the water. I especially LOVED the binoculars in my room, which allowed me to view seals, cormorants, pelicans, and even a seagull eating a starfish. My room furnishings, bedding and bathroom were contemporary, and exceptionally clean. My plan included breakfast at the Schooner's Coastal Kitchen, which was fresh and delicious both mornings, and the service was very good. There was light rain, and this hotel is a little bit farther away from Cannery Row than some others, so I had to drive everywhere, instead of walking. A couple of minor drawbacks: they initially didn't tell me that on top of my room rate, there was a $25 mandatory resort fee - but it did include valet parking; from the lobby, I had to go down to a lower level, walk through the hotel and then back up in another area to reach my room, which was cumbersome; they charged my credit card for a one-night "Advance Deposit" at the time of reservation - a full month before I arrived.

Room Tip: Half the fun of this area is being able to see the Bay, you need to request (and pay extra for) a Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The service we received during our stay at the Plaza was exceptional. From the moment we arrived, the valet was professional and eager to please. We were checked-in promptly and quickly assisted by a professional at the bellhop counter named Johnny Segovia. He provided us with a map and several recommendations for local tourist attractions and made it his priority to ensure our stay would exceed any expectations. The ocean front room was beyond expectations and the hotel's restaurant, Schooners, was stellar. Without a doubt we will return.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is a must! Waves crashing and sean lions barking, beautiful sounds to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful Hotel & view of the ocean magnificant...
Staff was very helpful & friendly.
First night there, front desk had Chocolate covered strawberries & champagne delivered to our room for our Anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Ocean View Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing