We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roscommon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Views”
Reviewed March 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for only 1 night on our honeymoon trip to San Diego. We booked it on travelocity and an amazing rate compared to what I could get it for on other sites.

We mentioned it was our honeymoon at check in and the lady upgraded our room to a partial ocean view! There was nothing partial about it - it was an amazing view! The room was just great. The bed was amazing.

The front entrance is being redone but the staff made the side entrance very easy. Everyone was very nice.

The location was great. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't need it till we left the next morning. So many things are within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,469
    725
    205
    98
    44
See reviews for
1,309
2,078
124
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel - 2 kids ages 7 & 5, plus 2 adults. Room and property as a whole are well furnished & decorated, the room was large & comfortable. One drawback was that it was fairly noisy - we were facing Cannery Row, so we had noise from the street at night and especially the early morning, and we also had noise from the elevator. But beyond this drawback, we enjoyed our stay - staff were accomodating, views from the lobby of the Bay were beautiful, and the hotel is truly walking distance from many places including the Aquarium.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listrajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I just returned from a week in San Francisco and environs with a friend and our thirteen-year-old daughters. We spent one night in Monterey and decided not to book ahead but to take our chances with what was available when we rolled into town. Boy, are we glad we did! We ended up at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for one fabulous night, and at a great price to boot, which we never would have anticipated. In fact, we almost didn't inquire, we were so sure it would be out of our price range. Instead, we got a great, spacious room and 4 Aquarium tickets for $215, which we thought was a real bargain for this fine hotel. Everything about it was perfect -- the big, beautiful room, the comfortable beds, the location over the water and walking distance to the Aquarium, all the amenities, and particularly the phenomenal staff. Every single staff person we encountered, from concierge to cleaner, was friendly, polite, and helpful and made us feel welcome and valued.
An additional bonus was views of sea otters and seals from the balcony. We got nice long views of a mother sea otter and her baby floating past the hotel on our last morning!

  • Liked — friendly staff. location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EminMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Myself and my husband had travelled from San Fran to Yosemite and arrived in Monterey not knowing where to stay we found this hotel on Cannery Row and thought it looked nice. We pulled in after our long haul drive and booked a room for night.
If we had known how beautiful this hotel was we would have stayed extra nights but or schedule didn't permit unfortunately.
Room was amazing location and views are spectacular. It was a great starting point for our trip down the Big Sur.

  • Liked — The rooms!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lackamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

I thought this hotel was fine indeed and in the middle of the action at Cannery Row. Totally non-smoking hotel with killer views. I do not think it is a place to take kids though. Perfect for that couple wanting to get the wave sounds into your room. They are finishing renovations right now. They have winter special going on including breakfast. Sometimes the rates are too high but with the specials this property is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scrambler329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was lovely and the room very spacious. We had no complaints. We got the Aqua Adventure package that included 2 adult and 2 children's tickets to the aquarium which is a great deal! The hotel is within walking distance to Cannery Row and the aquarium. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CAsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wortegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This is an outstanding hotel on a marvelous location.
The rooms are excellent and the Duck Club restaurant is outstanding for dinner.
Valet and concierge service are first class.

One negative point : breakfast at that same Duck Club restaurant was poor and service mediocre, which is a big contrast with the dinners ....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernand_Hollevoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing