We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best in Monterey”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights and wish it could have been more. The staff was very helpful. The parking attendants were very friendly and efficient. We had no difficulty getting our car in and out when needed. An added benefit that we were not expecting was free parking for our guest who was staying for the day. She arrived and we weren't sure where she could park her car, as we were planning on using our car to drive to Carmel and Big Sur. The attendant let us know that she could park in the hotel garage without charge. A welcome surprise. The hotel is located right on the water within walking distance to most of the major attractions, including Fisherman's wharf and the Aquarium.which are a must see. We chose to stay in one of the Garden Patio rooms located in the Spa building thanks to a previous reviewer's recommendation. Thanks for that tip! . It was a great choice for us. We sat outside our room each morning and evening enjoying the quiet and beauty of the spot. Our room was in a corner of the patio, The patio rooms had no water view but we had lots of opportunities to view the water from the many different areas of the hotel property. The room itself was very clean, lovely and large, the same size as the waterfront rooms, but a lot less expensive. The comfortable bedding made for a great nights sleep. Being in the Spa building had an added benefit for me as I used the fitness center, located in the building ,early each morning. The fitness center was large with enough equipment that there was no wait. The views of the water while working out were a bonus! Needless to say if we are going to be in the area again we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking at other hotels because this is too pricey think again. The rooms in the Spa bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,643
    768
    216
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,401
2,178
130
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO CITY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The rooms were great and the staff so very helpful. The beds were WONDERFUL. The rooms were really elegant. The location is ideal. The restaurant was so-so. There seemed to be only one waitress for the entire area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRINCIPALMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa this weekend. We went to celebrate my 40th birthday and all I can say is that the hotel was FABULOUS!!! The staff was friendly and helpful from the start of our stay to the end of our stay! The hotel even sent a special birthday gift to our room! Our room was clean, comfortable, and had the BEST view! We had breakfast and dinner in Schooner's Kitchen and Bar and it was delicious both times, with excellent staff who made sure everything was to our satisfaction. We had went to the Vista Blu Spa for several treatments and loved every second we were there! Again...the staff was amazing the entire time! We can't wait to go back, this hotel is amazing and the staff made sure our stay was perfect!!

Room Tip: We had an Ocean Parlor which was a corner suite with 4 balconies directly over the water. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmhall929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I'm happy that you were able to experience all aspects of our hotel during your stay, especially our amazing staff! I'd like to wish you a happy birthday and thank you for choosing us your destination hotel. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

loved this hotel, we arrived without a reservation and were so happy to find this place.
location is great and the hotel is beautiful. sat outside at the firepit with wine the last night
we were there. Great location and rates. the staff could not have been more helpful.
ate at scooners one night and the food was fabulous. We will be returning.

Room Tip: 3431 across the street was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel in our hire car on the last part of our holiday. I'm sure the intention is to be helpful but actually I felt rushed to get out of the car so that it could be moved to the hotel parking down the road. Once inside the check in was efficient but so much information was reeled off so quickly that I couldn't take half of it in.

We had booked a room without sea view. This turned out to be across the road via the walkway - it was quite a long walk from reception, about as far as you could go. We were very happy with the room - it was large with a nice mirror area just outside the bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. From our window we could partially see the sea across the road but we mainly overlooked cannery row. We did not experience any noise at night.

The weather wasn't great during our two night stay, a little afternoon sun but not enough, mainly cloudy and chilly. The back of the main hotel building didn't appear to get any sun during our stay, only the annex on the left hand side. A sea view would, in our opinion, have been a waste of money, because without the sun the view wasn't particularly attractive.

The hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions in Monterey but a couple of nights was enough here. We did get an invitation to a wine reception in the spa which was pleasant though we struggled to find our way there - there's a sign outside the building but once inside there are no directions to the spa.

There were lots of business events taking place during our stay and I think this is where the hotel is concentrating its main focus.

Room Tip: More likely to enjoy the sunshine in the building on the left of reception overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxGlitterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We got a room on the fourth floor to be more quiet but the patio plaza level acts as an echo chamber and shoots all the sounds, even regular conversations up to these upper rooms. If you want to sleep with the doors open it makes it too loud because of that. Otherwise very nice rooms and service. Good workout room but only opens at 6am. Service very nice. Schooner restaurant pricey and we had a moldy smelling area that ruined my meal. Don't let them seat you in back left corner!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear KW2011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community regarding your most recent stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Feedback from our guests always provides the details we need to improve on our service and product quality.

We pride ourselves on the premier service and accommodations that the Plaza is known for and when we fail to meet our guest's expectations, we do not take these matters lightly. I would like to apologize for the excessive noise you experienced throughout your stay and any inconvenience this may have caused. I have also taken note of your issue with a foul odor in our dining area. I have looked into this issue personally and it has been addressed. Again, I apologize for these issues and also thank you for the positive remarks you provided regarding your recent stay.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa and it does not disappoint. Service by everyone was again outstanding...friendly and professional. (it's a fine line to walk).

Because our trip was unexpected and our reservation was made last minute...the hotel was pretty well booked, so the room we were given had no balcony BUT a lovely garden/patio view. The room itself was absolutely spotlessly clean. (details details!). WiFi worked perfectly and I was able to use my iPad to stream movies, music etc with no problems. We ordered a lovely dinner brought to our room...My husband had chicken speciality and I had the steak with all the trimmings. Both excellently prepared. I have serious food allergies, but kitchen staff handled all our special request with no problem.

We used the Spa (really lovely services & views) WiFi (works perfect) Valet parking (which is so convenient) so we have no problem with the resort fee. To be clear, I wish there wasn't one...but since there is, I'm glad you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing