We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy,close to everything ,clean,nice rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Classy,close to everything ,clean,nice rooms!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We were really surprised and the efficiency of the valet,the friendliness of the desk,the bel hop all terrific.Our room had a nice view..clean..the only drawback is check in is at 4 and when you valet ,park and the rooms not ready,you wait...we would have called first to make sure it was ready...

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,574
    749
    212
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,361
2,139
130
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinole, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for two days and we were very impressed. Everyone was friendly and service oriented from the valet to the hot towels at reservations to the bell hop offering to get us ice or make dinner reservations. The spa people gave us a tour of all the facilities. The turn down service was a nice treat and even the maids said "Good Mornining" in the hallway. The prices at the restaurant were reasonable and the food was good. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a high quality hotel with excellent service

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

....Just returned from a three-night stay at this prime location at the gateway to Cannery Row. I had stayed here twice in the (late '90s, early '00s) past for conventions and while it was good, it is considerably improved. I cite three things that comprise those improvements: 1) Service - it's gone from average to excellent: 2) food, dining, and room service - was average and largely "stock" mid-range hotel boring to very good to excellent. However, I would recommend they continue their direction towards healthier choices on the breakfast and lunch menus: 3) Beds and linens - Wow soooo much better!. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshackle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff was attentive, the restaurant was excellent and the view is amazing. The hotel felt as though it was right in the ocean. A Regatta was sailing by as we had dinner and was beautiful. Had the opportunity to sit outside by the fire pit on a lovely evening. Overall, had a wonderful time and wish I could've stayed longer to check out the spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Vaca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed here maybe half a dozen times now over a number of years, most recently for my girlfriend's birthday this year. I've only ever stayed in two hotels in Monterey because this was the second and there was never any reason to go anywhere else!

Worth noting: upon check-in the front desk agent welcomed me back and made it a point to wish my girlfriend a happy birthday (yes, I had mentioned it while making the reservation months earlier) and there were some token goodies awaiting her in the room, aside from the champagne and chocolates I had brought along myself.

Room service is consistently good. I always do breakfast in the room every morning. I am a huge fan of breakfast in my room or on the patio with the ocean view!

It really is a nice hotel. Getting to the hot tub or fitness center can be a bit far depending on your room location. I'll admit, it may lack some of the stunning amenities of of the top hotels I've been a guest at, but it also lacks the stuffiness that can come along with that. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. It's always luxurious and clean. I have never had anything but an enjoyable stay. I always mean to get a spa treatment but somehow never get around to it... maybe next time.

The views can't be beat. Spend the bucks and stay in an ocean view room-- you're in Monterey! Every room (or at least every one I've stayed in) has binoculars for you to stare out over the bay and spot the wildlife. It can be a wonderfully romantic vacation spot.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! Don't come all this way to such a nice place and then pass that up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Monterey Plaza in September 2012 while on our honeymoon. We had an ocean view room with a beautiful view of the bay from both the side of the balcony and the side window! We had a great time watching the otters and birds with the binoculars that are provided. The room and bed were super comfortable and we loved the hotel robes that were provided for guests. The front desk staff, valet, and bell hop were all very friendly and helpful. There was a wine/cheese hour at the spa, which has a great view (its on the roof overlooking the bay). We really enjoyed our visit and will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently spent several days at this hotel. As to service, this hotel was top notch. Location is great for easy access into town. There is a great jogging trail that we utilized every morning. The restaurant on site is fantastic. Try the seafood salad. The coffee shop serves a tasty oatmeal. We kayaked in front of the hotel and biked to Pebble Beach. Overall a great trip. Only thing I would do different would be to pack warmer clothes. And be prepared. The hotel is noisy. Those staying bayside are awoken by the birds and those streetside by traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing