We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Romantic”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

While traveling the CA coast with my friend, we stopped here to enjoy the spa. The views are breathtaking and the spa is supurb! This is a relaxing place for a get-away with the girls or a romantic place to enjoy with someone special. Just a short walk to the quaint downtown, go to the Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary or do some wine tasting. This is a socially responsible hotel, which makes you feel as good as going to their spa! Don't forget to enjoy the sea lions just off your balcony!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room choice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZENmom819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,645
    774
    217
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,404
2,181
131
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a beautiful, luxurious hotel that literally sits on the ocean. We stayed here with our 5 and 3 year old and I was a little worried that it might not be the best place for kids, but I didn't have to worry about that. We pulled up on the day we arrived and there were a lot of staff helping everyone unload their luggage and valet their cars (the valet fee is already included in the resort fee that you have to pay, so you might as well park here). We arrived early and were able to check-in even though our room wasn't ready yet. They took down my cell number and said they would call me when the room was ready. That allowed us to leave all our luggage there and take a walk down to the aquarium which took about 10 minutes or so. The hotel itself is quite stunning from the beautiful lobby to the classic, elegant rooms with extremely comfortable beds. The main restaurant has panoramic views of the ocean. We ate breakfast there and the kids even spotted a sea otter who was swimming in and out of the water. The restaurant had a kids menu with crayons, so that was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I think I would enjoy coming back here with just my wife, so that we could experience the spa and other adult friendly amenities, but I wouldn't hesitate to bring my whole family back here either. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our stay was excellent, my family enjoyed the city and the hotel. This was very nice amd we liked it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Manal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my first experience at this hotel and I can't wait to go back. The grounds and rooms were beautiful, clean, and had views that would take your breadth away. Everyday we saw otters and seals from our ocean view room which I would highly recommend. The staff were professional and very helpful. They treated everyone like a VIP guest! I don't think I would ever consider staying anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience! It's nice to hear we've got another loyal fan, can't wait to welcome you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

WOW. A terrific property in every way. Our partial ocean view room and lockout ended up being over the ocean with views in three directions. The location was fantastic, right on Cannery Row with bike and jogging trail, sea lions, otters, spa, fitness, easy access to 17 mile drive and Carmel, 10 minute walk to Monterey pier! You cannot ask for more, service was great, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I had chosen this hotel in part to celebrate our 50th but also to join our son as he played in the Audi Quattro Golf tournament at Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Besides being so close to so many "things to do", the hotel service was really great. Special thanks to Concierge Hillary who resolved a medical supply issue for us when our Illinois provider couldn't. Schooners is a great place to have a drink on the deck or a meal. The fitness center is one of the better ones I've used at any hotel. The hotel staff, however, sets this hotel apart from the rest. Our room had a balcony overlooking the bay and on our last morning, we saw the SUNRISE over the bay, what a memorable stay at this Mediterranean style facility.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the bay and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobT0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Our staff is our best asset! Thanks so much for recognizing them and happy belated Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday weekend getaway. The place has great ocean front rooms and is located on the quiet end of Cannery Row, the opposite end from the aquarium. We were treated very well from valet parking to turn down service. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the bay and there's a family of otters that hang out in the kelp bed in the view of the rooms and the rooms have binoculars to watch them with!

The hot tubs, steam sauna, and gym room are quite nice with great views on the top floor. It is time well spent relaxing, the turn down service is quite a nice touch as well. You can order a couple drinks and service will bring it up to you.

We had breakfast at Schooners restaurant in the hotel and with great views all around, and the food is pretty good too. The omelets and blueberry cinnamon french toast with orange juice was good.

Everything is a short walk away, there's a great little Indian place down the street, a movie theater, shopping everywhere, and lots of activities just in the wharf a few miles away and some great parks and paths in Pacific Grove to jog. It was really difficult to leave and can't wait to return! Don't be afraid to walk the streets and shops a block up from Cannery Row, there are shopping malls, sushi restaurants, and a movie theater all there if you just look up from Cannery Row.

Room Tip: If you can wing the price, I highly recommend the deluxe room with ocean view and balcony. Having th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing