We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A beautiful and romantic hotel located near the Monterey Bay. The staff was wonderful bring room service request to us. They also packed us a picnic lunch to take for a bicycle tour.
A plus to the excellant location was looking out the window to see sea otters playing in the waters.
This is hotel for a romantic honeymoon with a plush bed and very helpful staff.
Perfect for all types of families too because of its location. In walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium and wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,168
    634
    173
    88
    38
See reviews for
1,153
1,904
112
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were visiting for a few days and the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa was the perfect place to call home. Sitting right on the water with views across the bay we were delighted with our room and the view. My wife and I enjoyed sitting around the large glass lined fire pit in the evening with perfectly crafted martinis in hand. The food was reasonable priced and good. Since we live in the Napa Valley good food is a must. The staff was friendly and responsive. We never waited more than 5 minutes for someone to bring extra pillows or more toiletries to our room and valet parking was surprisingly quick. The hotel is situated in a beautiful area and there was lots to see and do without ever getting in our car. We we had a perfect time and couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: If the place isn't full I always ask to preview a 2-3 rooms before deciding. It's a little w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a quick weekend away. We go to Monterey often for day trips but have not stayed for a weekend in many years. We wanted an ocean view, and close to restaurants so we did not have to drive, this hotel fit those criteria, knowing we were paying the price for these amenities. The hotel is impressive and the front desk was friendly, I had noted that we were celebrating our anniversay on our reservation and the agent acknowleged it at check in. We had room 2417 over the water with a view and a small balcony. Soon after arriving a bottle of Champagne and Chocolate Strawberries arrived, with congratulations on our anniversary, a very nice touch.The room was nice sized and well appointed. Our balcony overlooked the area where outdoor weddings were held and while there we saw 2.
Although there is a coffee pot in the room, we expected there would have been fresh coffee in the lounge areas in the morning but there is not. A coffee shop is attached to the outside of the hotel. Our room was one that had adjoining doors to rooms on both sides and we were hearing the other guests talking in the morning and evenings thru the doors. In the evenings there is a pianist playing in the lounge area which is very nice. All in all it was a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel/view, lovely room, staff very friendly.

Quiet expensive though spent about 1000 euro for 4 nights .
Have to pay for breakfast separately on top of that which was about 40 dollars when you include tip.

In short its an excellent hotel but you just need to be aware that you're going to spend quiet a lot

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2012Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for a couple of nigths on a weekend getaway from San Francisco.
We had a room booked without a bay view and got offered an upgrade for $100/night to a bay view room. We took it and although it pushed the room priced up from what I class as pricey to downright expensive the view was pretty much worth it.
We were on the 4th floor overlooking the plaza and the bay. This meant we had a bird's eye view of one of the 2 wedings on the plaza on Saturday afternoon.

We tried out the spa, My wife had a massage and I just lounged on the roofdeck reading.

Dinner one night was in the main Schooners restaurant and the next in the bar. Both good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanTheTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, great setting for conferences

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AOL.COM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just driving up to this fabulous venue is breath taking. From the moment we were greeted by the suave Bell Staff and upon checking in to our fantastic room, the experience was tops.
Thank you Monterey Plaza for your consistent quality and attention to detail and for yet another memorable rendezvous in paradise~ The Plaza definitely does it right!

Room Tip: check out the Coastal Kitchen's Salmon mole or the short ribs~ YUMMMMY
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlynPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing