We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++ Hotel and Beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 23, 2012

What an amazing hotel and beautiful area! My husband and I were at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for 5 days. I joined him on a business trip and we had a couple of days to spend on our own. (So it was a pleasure/relaxing trip for me). This hotel is A++. It is absolutely gorgeous -- sits overlooking Monterey Bay. If you can get a room with the view, I'd definitely recommend it -- way worth the price. The hotel amenities are great and it's beautifully decorated – from the lobby to the individual rooms. The food and atmosphere of both their Schooner's Bar (that also has outdoor seating overlooking the bay if weather permits) and newly renovated restaurant were great too - upscale and fresh.

The first few days we were there, the weather was not great - overcast and stormy. Although the rooms are very well insulated for noise, the waves were a bit loud the first few days. It wasn't really that bothersome, though, as it was kind of peaceful to hear the waves washing up and down the beach.

Out our hotel windows, we could see alot of activity including boats and sea otters. Plus many of the rooms facing the water have small balconies with a table and two chairs -- very nice.

From the hotel, we took several short walks down Cannery Row - which is right next to the hotel. There are several restaurants and quaint shops there as well as historical insights into the old canneries that used to be located there. At the end (just a couple of blocks) is the Monterey Bay Aquarium, http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/, which is very popular and has programs to save/rehab both sea otters and white sharks. We ran out of time so didn't have a chance to check it out further.

One of the greatest parts of our trip was to be able to walk just past Cannery Row along the ocean shore toward Pacific Grove. There's a fabulous trail and wide walking/biking path and the views are stunning of the waves crashing on the beach. The best part for me was to see the huge number of seals basking on a sandy beach just down from the aquarium. They were there every day and were awesome. (See my photos).

The other fun thing we did while we were there (when the sun came out) was to take two short drives - one about 20 mins to the 17-mile drive around the Pebble Beach area. Beautiful area, golf courses and mansions. We had lunch at the Tap Room (bar) at Pebble - my husband was in heaven. The second drive we took was a bit longer (maybe an hour) down the coast to an area called Big Sur. Again, the road goes right along the coastline and the views of the big green hills rolling down to the ocean are tough to beat. (See photos). Overall, it was a fabulous stay at the hotel and the area sightseeing was beautiful and fun. I'd recommend the hotel for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones that face Monterey Bay and all the sealife and activities. If you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,855 - 3,861 of 5,096 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Plaza for a combination vacation/business meeting. The staff did a fantastic job coordinating the meeting for our small group, and the relaxing atmosphere and beauty of the hotel made our free time memorable. It is truly a remarkable setting - with our room literally over the water. At low tide we could view sea life - otters, sea lions and harbor seals - from our lanai. We will never stay anywhere else when we visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozags79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first. The location is perfect as it is right on Cannery Row and within walking distance of the Aquarium (our primary reason for the weekend) as well as great breakfast spot. The plaza around the hotel is gorgeous with amazing views and nice spots to sit by the cafe and sculptures to enjoy. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are nicely appointed. The staff is professional and helpful. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We loved this hotel! We cracked our window at night to be able to hear the waves. Also, the free yoga class with David B. Saturday AM was perfect - just what was needed, and he customized the class to fit my level of ability. It was also very cool to be able to watch the otters playing in the water right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is my second time here and it will not be the last. The rooms are clean, elegant and quiet. Every detail is thought of - right down to the binoculars in the ocean view rooms. The hotel itself has many areas to relax in; the lobby piano bar and two restaurants downstairs and all have fantastic ocean views. The fitness room is on the top floor and looks out to the ocean and the rooftop spa area is very relaxing. Just a short stroll away is Cannery Row. I was here on a business trip and appreciated coming back to the hotel everyday for some well-deserved relaxation. I really can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Worth the splurge for a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank have$willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We love the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The hotel has a wonderful ambiance - immaculately clean, sophisticated and charming. The staff is consistently outstanding - always friendly and helpful and eager to please. The rooms are luscious - the beds and bedding extra elegant and comfy. And the spa is wonderful - great range of services offered, very clean and relaxing atmosphere - a little pricey, but so worth it! Got an email for a special rate - $149/night - couldn't resist! And can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4stars4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Hotel Staff was outstanding. after reading some review's we weren't sure how it would go, but upon arrival it was hands down the best customer service we ever experienced in our life. They really went out of there way to make us feel welcome in every aspect of the hotel stay from the bell service to the spa and restaurant. The view from our room was so beautiful. the prices at schooner's were lower than we had expected from other reviews, I guess they were used to McDonald prices. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel to anyone. I know my wife and I will be back many times in the near future.

Room Tip: get the King bed balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael n Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $264 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing