We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent our anniversary night at the Monterey Plaza, to round off a wonderful weekend at Esalen on Big Sur. The hotel was the first place we ever stayed on maimland America and it continues to score as a luxury location in a bustling and beautiful part of the world. This is the fifth time there and it has never disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Ocean View. You are right over the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,990 - 3,996 of 5,219 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over 25 years ago and on honeymoon and were fortunate to stay there again just recently. We ate lunch at Schooners and the food was absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: The extra cost to have a room on the water is well worth it. You'll fall asleep to the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSafranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Have stayed here a few times, and just as this visit, found this a very good choice in Monterey, at the quiet end of Canery Row, very convienent, beautiful Bay views, very comfortable rooms and friendly, professional service, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a king ocean view on the 3rd of 4th floor of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johndannermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have visited this hotel and spa a numerous amount of times and have never once had a bad experience. The spa on the top floor is always impeccable. They have a full gym with high quality exercise equipment and the locker rooms are cleaner than a whistle with every type of toiletry you could ever imagine. I love this spa and the service here is above excellent. The staff is always friendly and they definitely go above and beyond for all of their clients. I'm a local and choose to use this facility over any other on the Monterey Peninsula. They offer packages that include a 50 minute service (which are always great) and then serve you a 2-course meal outside where you can enjoy the sun and jacuzzis that overlook the bay. I am tellling you that once you visit this Spa, no other will ever be able to compare. Special thanks to Martha, Sam, Samantha and Rea. You all do a wonderful job and each time I bring guests with me, they are always so impressed with you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I'm local in Monterey now, but when I lived in Santa Cruz, my boyfriend & I would always stay at the Plaza...we love it! Everything from the people working there to the location to the ambience is wonderful. I especially love going to Schooners now & drinking champagne at the bar & watching Anna work the room...she's a joy to be around. I highly recommend this hotel for any occasion!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days recently at this wonderful hotel in Monterey, California. I think we could have stayed much longer! Our room was wonderful, large, and had just an incredible view of the ocean. We could watch the amazing sea otters from the room! The dining room was also just wonderful. Every meal that we had there was just perfect and the service was terrific. It's so nice when you stay at a hotel and the staff remembers your name if you have a request or if they just happen to be sharing an elevator or see you elsewhere in the building! The warm, cozy feel of the resort is just perfect. The setting of the hotel is just amazing!

I am a big fan of the Aquarium in Monterey and you can easily walk there from this hotel. Cannery Row is just an OK spot to walk - kind of like saying you walked down Broadway in NYC but it is still a vital part of the community. We were originally supposed to stay at the Marriott but changed our minds at the last minute. What a great decision. When we saw the Marriott it was a typical large, boxy hotel geared more to conventions and large groups than to the individual traveler or family. We just fell instantly in love with the Monterey Plaza. Absolutely no complaints of any kind - just a wonderful, perfect stay that we wished would never end!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front! Also ask if they have any breakfast included packages available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were really looking forward to this hotel, because it was voted top 25. We booked a ocean view room through Expedia. When we got to our room and looked out the window, it was facing a large ugly building. If you looked to the left, there was a beautiful view, so I couldn't argue with them that it wasn't an ocean view room. I would request that your room is facing the ocean and not this awful, ugly building. Room was clean, and very nice. Service was good.
Spa looked awesome, I wish I had more time to take advantage of it. Very loud music was playing outside our room, but it stopped by 9:20 pm, so I thought that was reasonable. I would definitely return, and recommend to a friend, but would ask for a room in front of hotel. If you could spurge for a balcony, I would do it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ike2012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $245 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing