We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN MONTEREY, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Downey, CA
2 reviews
“BEST HOTEL IN MONTEREY, CA”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Excellent customer service overall. Starting from Valet, front desk to concierge. Excellent customer service is why we chose to stay at the Monterey Plaza & Spa Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecisn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,580
    750
    212
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,364
2,142
130
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We stayed for a Saturday night and had spa treatments on Sunday. The rooms were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We also received massage and facials. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel122102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Excellent service, fantastic location on Cannery Row, this hotel is top notch and reasonably priced. The spa was very good, as was the restaurant downstairs. We were there for the opening of the restaurant -- the Angry Prawns appetizer was fantastic. I plan on returning just to taste what was one of the best shrimp dishes I've ever had. Service at the bar (attached to the restaurant) was world class.The hotel is a short walk to the aquarium, with plenty of stops / shops along the way. Will stay here every time we revisit Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is beautiful. Before tou walk into the lobby and are greeted by the doormen. Once you get inside your eyes are treated to the floor to ceiling, wall to wall view of the ocean.
Service is wonderful, they really know how to treat their guests.
My room was located in the second building and my balcony faced the plaza. I could see the dolphin fountain and sit and relax while looking at the water.
This hotel is worth every cent to stay even one night here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlamptey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have stayed at almost every luxury hotel in Monterey. Recently, I stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa and I can undoubtedly say that this may be the best hotel in Monterey.
First of all, Its huge.. Takes on two sides of Cannery Row. It is too a little confusing trying to find your room, but after you figure that out the rest is a breeze..lol. The hotel is really luxurious and the rooms are really nice. They have turn down service at night, however, my room wasn't touched...hmmm. Two negative things I recommend the hotel change is one, the TV channels, and two, the WiFi range. for such a hotel of luxury they not only don't take advantage of HD channels with their HD TV's but, no HBO.... Plus, they have free WiFi (taken care of with your $25 resort fee, which also gets you free valet service for up to two vehicles) but its hard to get a good signal for internet to work. I'm not trying to be picky, here's the deal. if you are going to charge a lot of money for a room and be a big luxury hotel in a beautiful place like Monterey, I expect more than what the other person has.... if the Marriott offers HDTV and HBO etc, you better too and then some.....Right. We all want to get our monies worth. That's all I am saying.
Other than those two items, this hotel is awesome and is located right on the water. If it was summer, it would have been nice to walk down the stairs to the beach and jump in, The hotels bar at Schooners is really cool and the night I was there they had a guitarist playing and he sounded incredible. The servers at the bar were very friendly and attentive to my needs. The hotel is also within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel also provides free shuttle service around town, Nice!
I would recommend this hotel for first timers to Monterey and for couples looking for a weekend romance getaway.

Room Tip: Just do it and splurge on the ocean view.... Your wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morlannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Perfect location right on Monterey Bay. Great service from every person working at the hotel. Fantastic bed. Excellent restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and lunch. Walking distance to the sights of Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Worth the slightly higher prices compared to nearby hotels.

Room Tip: We didn't bother going for the ocean view - figured we'd see the ocean when we ate in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way from San Fran to L.A. Fantastic location. Initially booked an inland view room but upgraded to water view ($75) which was well worth it. The windows, while not full length as stated on the web site (They are in balcony rooms), had an awesome view of the water and are literally over the water. The room was well fitted out and tasteful and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore made it special. The attached dining at Schooners for dinner and breakfast was excellent with again, great views of the water and the seals playing in the seaweed. Easy walk to cannery row and aquarium and coastal walk. Checkout time was 12 noon which was great as we were still a little jet lagged and meant you didn't have to rush in the morning. A very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with water views. For "full length" windows need balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing