We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A land cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roseville
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A land cruise”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, and if we would have had the time we would have stayed longer. The hotel is beautiful...lots of windows with spectacular views. Our room was absolutely spotless clean with a lovely view. One of the highlights of your visit will be the OUTSTANDING service. If you've ever cruise you will immediately recognize the specialized personal service. Everyone calls you by name from the receptionist to the bell boy. The restaurant food is fresh fresh fresh. Room service is fast and the food...again Excellent! Perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,575
    749
    212
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,361
2,140
130
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Spa is a MUST while staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa!!! My boyfriend and I just spent the weekend there for a company Christmas party and let me just say, I am the luckiest girl on Earth to have gotten to be there! I had the best 50 min massage EVER...and I've had some very good ones...but this was the b e s t!! ASK FOR DAVID!!!!!!

I also had a facial with LISA, and love her also!!! She was so nice, and we had great conversation, but most of all, I left with the best skin I ever had!!!!! She completely catered to my individual needs and made me look and feel amazing!! Even my bf noticed how great my skin was afterwards! :)

TIP: Don't make plans for after the spa appointments because their Spa's terrace has two hot tubs, a fireplace, and lots of seating so we hung out for the afternoon! They even bring room service out to you, so we had lunch in the sunshine, wearing our robes and ACTUALLY RELAXING for once! IT WAS THE BEST!!!

I CANNOT wait to return to Monterey and stay at this resort again!!!

p.s. The beds are sooooooooooo comfy! I fell asleep instantly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWPORT BEACH, CA
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I visit the Monterey Plaza typically 2 to 3 times a year and have for several years now. We feel like we are "coming home" everytime we visit. We usually celebrate our anniversary, her birthday, my birthday or if we just need a "Monterey Plaza Fix". Great location, great property, excellent staff. Any time of year is a good time to be in Monterey and at the Monterey Plaza. I golf, my wife reads and watches the otters and seals at play in the bay and we both enjoy walking. The food is great, the spa staff is excellent and I could go on and on.............
Highly recommended to anyone who appreciates the good things in life.

Room Tip: Rooms over the water are just like being on a cruise ship. The sounds of the waves are very relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I absolutly love visiting the spa at Monterey Plaza Hotel. The staff makes me feel at home, the treatments are wonderful (my favorite is bliss on the bay) and the view spectacular. I highly recommend booking an appointment.
Local to Monterey

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for visiting our Vista Blue Spa. It always makes us happy and proud to hear of our guest's satisfaction with staff and the spa facilities. Especially from a returning local! We hope that you continue to visit our lovely spa and that we never fail to meet your expectations of quality service.

By the way, our Vista Blue Spa has its own Trip Advisor page as well! Please feel free to direct any future reviews or feedback to its page as well if you like. Again, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the rest of Trip Advisor.

Sincerely

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent a few nights at the Monterey Plaza in November, expecting a nice hotel with good service and were not disappointed. The hotel is on the water and our room had a wonderful view of Monterey Bay. The hotel is a short walk to Fisherman’s Warf, historic Monterey and Cannery Row. The hotel restaurant/bar, Schooners, was a popular meeting and eating place with a number of heaters for a cool evening drink a short walk will get you to the Charthouse restaurant which we would recommend for their happy hour. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped with attentive turn down service. This was not our first visit to Monterey but our first time on the water and would recommend it as an excellent spot.

Room Tip: A view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just got home from a 3day stay with my wife for our 24th anniversary. Again the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa did not disappoint us. Upgrade to a ocean view king room. commentary champagne, turn down service . have stayed there twice before including when they opened in 1986. Again thank you for a wonderful time , we will be back again and again.

Room Tip: get room 1419 amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I love this hotel. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean! Great food at the restaurants. I make this my home when in Monterey.

Room Tip: Ocean views are the best of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing