We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilbert's Seafood Grill - CLOSED

Gilbert's Seafood Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I dined here during our night visit to Monterey on our way down the Big Sur. We opted for here as the member of staff was very friendly and it looked like a nice restaurant. The seafood was very good and whilst quiet it had a very relaxing atmosphere. We were entertained by the seals in the harbour and watching life slowly pass you by. There is a lot of choice down Wharf 1 in Monterey, but I would recommend here as a good choice of seafood restaurants.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magmoncrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This restaurant is now closed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant is now closed and new owners are remodeling and updating the tired menu. The new owners manage several other wharf restaurants so we much wait and see of something inviting developes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GOTTA-GO-THERE-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“On the Wharf”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you have an opportunity in Monterey, you should eat on the wharf at a window table for some excellent scenery: boats, sea lions, soaring birds, maybe a sea otter or two. We saw all.

Gilbert's met our expectations, but they could have done a little better.

First the good things. We both ordered a fish lunch, and the fish in both cases was seemingly fresh, well prepared and tasty. As were the mixture of vegetables.

Our only issue was that our two meals on the menu came with rice, but we instead got mashed potatoes. And in a peeve that I personally carry, the fish was mashed down onto the mashed potatoes. It was hard to separate the two.

The scenery and interior environment was very good.

Our waiter had issues -- not bringing my wife's water with the lemon she requested in advance and never bringing us the bread that he himself offered us. Another waiter willingly obliged us when asked.

Prices were reasonable for our lunches and the setting.

While I only rank at a "3", I don't think you'll do much better in this rather touristy area of the Monterey Wharf.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT worth a visit!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Highly priced items for the low quantity of food. Mixed up our orders, wait staff was slow fulfill our requests (had to ask TWICE on number occasions!), and only allowed ONE free soda refills! What kind of restaurant only allows one soda refill?!? If, if you have to visit, the best deal is to keep to the lunch specials. For the quantity of food, the price could be right depending on what is ordered. Another MFW restaurant we will NOT be visiting again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The amount of food one gets is disproportionate with the menu prices. Seems like we got transported to Italy where they hand you a tourist menu when they see you come in, and everything starts at $20. Given the casual setup, small portions and nothing really exciting on the menu, you can do much better elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's Seafood Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing