We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Plum

The Wild Plum
Ranked #41 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Was at a conference in Monterey CA and needed a place to have lunch. Had a roast beef sandwich on fresh baKed roll with roasted red peppers and onions and baby spinach. Delightful. Service was a little slow and unorganized. People got the wrong food. Served out of order and I had to ask for my beverage. They are organic and have lots of choices. Cute as well

Helpful?
Thank Yosemitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    118
    30
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing food. Enjoyed this smaller venue to the maximum. It was simply splendid. Tiny privately owned restaurant cooked to perfection. Definitely coming back again and again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Wild Plum is not exactly what you would expect listed with the rest of the restaurants on TripAdvisor. It's set as a small cafe just inside of town. When you walk in they have very limited seating areas that at times cause you to have to wait, and there's hardly enough room for standing when you're waiting for a table or a to-go order. There may be 10 small tables with cut brown paper table cloths and canning jars used as glasses for water. The service does seem to have a few hiccups here and there and not everything is in order, a bit chaotic and cluttered. Eclectic I think some would call it. There is a large menu written on a chalk board style wall with tons of options and if you don't like what's there they can custom make your order. Why do my wife and I go back? Because the food is Delicious! We enjoy the creativity in their dishes and their passion for making natural, sustainable, and organic food come alive in all new delicious ways. It really is a Great place to eat if you ever have the chance to go. Every time my wife and I are in town we make it a point to stop by and try something out. I would definitely recommend this for a nice brunch or a to go meal before hitting the great outdoors!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great spot for breakfast. We stayed at a hotel across the street and stopped in for breakfast. Wonderful options. Freshly baked muffins, Danish, etc. Gets my seal of approval.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you don't mind getting your own coffee, the food will make you glad that you dropped in. The food is freshly prepared and the portions are generous. Consider splitting one of the large omelettes and sharing one of their sweet rolls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Plum also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Wild Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing