We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Plum

The Wild Plum
Ranked #45 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NorCal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is a treasure. It has a very seattle-ish vibe inside, with cool music and fun artwork on the walls. Great food, great flavors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    117
    30
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ordered our coffee and lunch at this cafe. The coffee arrived but we waited over 30 mins for our lunch to arrive. In the end we had to cancel as we couldn't wait. The food might be good but they appeared to be very disorganised and not able to cope with a restaurant that was not even full.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeachandSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a delightful place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wonderful home-made food. The berry pancakes were loaded with FRESH raspberries and blackberries. The cook/chef actually apologized that blueberries were not in season, so they used other berries. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. Fresh baked muffins are displayed in old muffin tins in the display case. Fresh flowers in a canning jar filled with water and fresh cranberries on each table. Went twice and loved it both times. lovely place with lovely people. Great coffee. When I go back to Monterey, will definitely go again. A gem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“From San Francisco to San Diego...Monterey stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Leaving San Francisco by car and going to San Diego....it was essential for me to find a nice place to stop along the road for lunch. I was wishing for healthy, "home made", organic, affordable and charming venue, basically a non "american traditional snack joint"!

Thank you Trip Advisor and to all of you that takes the time to write reviews! After few research and reading some comments, I knew where I wanted to go. The wild Plum was PERFECT!!!! The food was succulent, the terrace was great for a bath sun and the service was very good! Fresh flowers on the tables and Masson Jar for your drinks is a nice touch.

PS: The venue doesn't have any washrooms so you need to go on the side of the building and use the "public area". The female restroom was disgusting! Please be aware and bring some tissues just in case they don't have anymore.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyTravelsTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“green and green”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

as organic as can be (dependent on market), fresh as possible (local ingredients), and friendly owner. we actually hired them to cook for our small and casual wedding. was fantastic! vegan options (grilled veggies, polenta, etc...), meat options (fish, sandwiches, lasagna...), and awesome baked goods! (apricot cookie so yummy and chewy!) i'd recommend to others for catering. even great prices compared to others who don't outsource conscientiously!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Plum also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Wild Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing