We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad but Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #51 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Not Bad but Not Great”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had to stay in the Monterey area whilst our apartment in Carmel was being refurbished. As a Choice Privileges member I tried a number of Choice linked hotels, so as to increase my membership points and status. We moved to this hotel from the much superior Comfort Inn. The first room we were given smelt of cleaning fluid and bleach, it was foul. We had to argue to get a move to another room. This should not happen, especially when the smell was so strong.The second room was OK but still smelled of bleach. The room itself was clean, but it was much smaller than the aforementioned Comfort Inn. The breakfast was OK. Overall if you want to stay in a Choice Hotel, I would stay in the Comfort Inn in Monterey, it was nicer, bigger and more attentive staff than this hotel.

It wasn't bad, but other hotels serve the customer better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    101
    87
    43
    44
See reviews for
87
134
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod, ma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this clarion for 2 days. Room small but clean with micro frig and coffee maker. Coffee maker broke and they promptly brought up a new one. Location is good . Walked to dinner and town. Room wasn't ready as we were early and we came back at 3 and it was done. Breakfast was great. The hotel feels cramped not really a good place to sit outside. Small Area near pool was dirty with grubby chairs needs refreshing. It did not have a gym or laundry which I like and had inside pool- not a fan. It's a good price for what you get but would have loved to relax outside

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stedenCapeCod_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for the first time during our annual trip to Monterey. We stayed six nights and it was our best stay ever in Monterey, The manager and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast and the convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWithSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My fiance and I were in Monterey for a weekend trip and stayed in the honeymoon suite. The decor is a little dated with gold fixtures and early 90's pastels but the room was clean and quiet and the fireplace, jacuzzi tub and candles made up for it. We loved it! During the day you can hear noise from the kids in the pool but we were out most of the day so it didn't bother us. We would definitely stay in that room again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night en-route down the PCH. Both rooms were spacious and clean. Front desk were helpful and accommodating. Request for quiet room was honoured and we all slept well, which is always a priority. Well placed for sightseeing. Breakfast was adequate.
Monterey itself, a little 'fairgroundish' and disappointing. Not much old charm to be found.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Jmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on March 11 for several nights and I like it the first three nights I was there. The bed was very nicely made and comfortable. The room was cleaned and organized. I had a cottage room right behind the front desk office. it has a small patio with one chair but nothing special. The inn has a heated pool and Jacuzzi which is nice. When I first swam in the pool I got my eyes stingy because of so much chlorine in the pool but recovered the next day. The room had deficiencies such as a big stain in the bathroom wall right next to the toilet which I informed the front desk agent Diana. The Jacuzzi jet were not working at all after I was told it had jets. I was disappointed. The cabinets in the bathroom are outdated and kind of gross. The breakfast is not as nice as the one right next door which is quality inn. They should have a microwave in the breakfast room so guests can heat up their milk as I like to heat up mine. When I asked the breakfast attendant to heat up my milk she was rude and said "no we don't have microwave here" without going out of her way and finding other ways to please a guest. This is not customer service at all to me. They need to change this practices. Overall I like the inn which is rare to say. However when I revisited Clarion on march 20 and stayed in the same cottage as last time I was very disappointed to find out that the same issues I related to Diana in my first stay about the stain in the bathroom was still there? really? when a guest gives you constructive comment you as a hotel need to follow up and complete the task. Most of all take it seriously otherwise other guests will complaint about it. That's why you have maintenance people working there to do their job. But other than that I had a good stay. This is a nice hotel overall. I took pictures I will be posting soon.

Room Tip: Most rooms are nice and updated with flat screen tvs and very clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My family wanted to stay in a hotel with an indoor pool. Monterey doesn't have many hotels with an indoor pool feature. Their pool was fabulous! It was very warm, and my girls loved it! The room was decent, felt a little cramped. The pool made our stay worthwhile though. We will definitely stay again if we are traveling with the kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels4420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Property: Stargazer Inn and Suites
Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing