We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Clarion Hotel in Monterey was very nice. The second bed was in a separate room with a balcony & view of the bay. How nice to be able to look out at the ocean! Breakfast was adequate: the real china & flatware were a plus. Pool was warm & clean with towels available at the desk. The hotel was walking distance to shopping & close to major highways. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank re74dra4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    101
    86
    43
    43
See reviews for
86
133
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here as we needed to stay another night in Monterey and our hotel (Portola) had no vacancies.

No horror stories to report. It's a reasonable budget hotel. The room felt tired and the breakfast was meagre, but then this is a cheap hotel. I've certainly stayed in a lot better for the same price (we did so that week), but Monterey is an expensive/overpriced town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirdnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion for 2 nights. The first night we paid about $190 for 3 people in a double. We extended our stay for a second night (at $300) to explore more of Monterey. That was a bit overpriced for the quality of the hotel even on a Saturday night. The rooms are clean but just a bit noisy. You could hear the next door neighbors arrive and leave at all hours of the night but that may just have been the room we stayed in. The breakfast should be used as a snack to an early lunch. Staff was good and responsive all around. I would prefer to be 2 blocks or so closer to downtown. Probably would not stay at the Clarion again but it's not a bad last-resort place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My stay at the Clarion Hotel Monterey was a good reminder of what hotels use to be. Although clean and comfortable the age of the hotel showed in a musty odor that was constant. I was impressed by how quite it was and was able to sleep quite well. The continental breakfast was stark but they had Cheerios (my favorite cereal) and the coffee was fresh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in room 233. It must have been an old owners room. Being a suite, it was very small (I've stayed in larger cruise cabins on cruise ships) and very poor quality for a suite. No air conditioner in room, refridg was warm, light bulb in bathroom burned out, drawer in closet hutch was broke, bed was a queen and hard and bathroom floor needed some repairs. The morning breakfast is not until 7 am making it a bit hard for morning air travels to enjoy a quick breakfast. No coffee in the lounge so having morning coffee if you can't wait for breakfast is impoible as the coffee pot in the room is dirty and I certainally wouldn't use it. The grounds were clean and the staff seemed pleasant to communicate with. I would not recommend this Clarion if you like a more upscale stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyoed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent staff, good rooms, good location.
Breakfast is just ok with cereal, juice, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy and waffles.
They do have indoor pool but i think it is shared with the neighboring hotel too so expect it to be a little crowded.
Noise from outside might keep you up if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If the indoor pool attracts you here, be aware that while it is a large one and nice enough, unless you are here when it is very warm, or you happen to have a room that is very close to the pool, you will need to be ready for an outside walk back and forth from the pool. There are no changing facilities or bathrooms in the pool area, either. Otherwise, the rooms are OK, and the breakfast very nice with lots of stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John10731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.0 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Property: Stargazer Inn and Suites
Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing