We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a family to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel in a room with a king sized bed. Our three year old slept between us. That I don't recommend---but the hotel was nice. It isn't a fancy hotel, but it met our needs just fine. The breakfast was good with waffles, cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, biscuits and gravy. It was nice to not have to worry about breakfast while on vacation. Our room was clean with plenty of room. The pool was a wonderful addition to have. My son loved being able to go swimming. It does have salty water in it, which was just fine with us. The water was warm. This was a good location and it was easy to drive to destinations. The shower in the room was tall enough for my 6'6" husband to not feel like he had to duck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hope2wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 370 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

No frills in my single queen room...but none needed for a simple business traveler to recharge batteries. Bed was extremely comfortable. Shower was roomy enough for a big guy to be comfortable and not have to worry about fighting with the shower curtain.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank MohicanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can be fairly particular when it comes to hotels. I need to have a decent mattress, good quality sheets, clean furniture and bed-covers, and a decent clean bathroom (which should include good quality towels).

The Clarion on Munras in Monterey has all these things. Based upon a couple of the reviews, I was honestly a little skeptical. AFTER we received our room designation (Room 218), I expressed this to the clerk checking us in for a 2 nights stay. She appreciated that we came despite some negative reviews, and in fact called us once we got settled into our room to make sure everything was to our liking. (Very nice touch!)

Yes, the paint was a little spotty in a couple areas, but for a family hotel under $100 a night for a King Bed, this was to be expected. The mattress was a little hard, but honestly I'd rather have that than something soft and lumpy, but the sheets were quite nice and the room was very clean. As well, this particular unit overlooks a business park which appeared to be pretty vacant, and had a small balcony since it was on the end. I much preferred this to the windows overlooking the hallways which the other rooms had. (Would DEFINITELY request an end-unit again when staying here!)

The towels were surprising thick & fluffy, and the staff was wonderful. (Contacts: check in, check out, housekeeping)

Now, it's not the Spindrift Inn or Portola Plaza Hotel, but it's also not $200 per night. So, for a couple nights stay when you would rather than your money on food & activities, I think this hotel is an excellent choice!!

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit / balcony unit - really nice extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gotsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Got a great room! We paid for 2 beds and got a huge room with a fireplace! Was just awesome! Front staff were friendly! No elevator and were on the 2nd floor but wasn't too bad. Our bed was so very comfortable! Towels were big and fluffy! Husband and kids were in the pool and had a good time. The fireplace really heated up the room! Was a very nice surprise when we weren't expecting it. Would stay there again. The continental breakfast wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rooms were very small, and smelled of smoke, even though they it was listed as a non-smoking room. Cleaning staff spent the each morning shouting to other staff on the grounds just outside the door for both days we were at the Hotel. The pool was not clean.

Room Tip: This hotel was neither a bargain or a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amrita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the cutest, hotel ever. Our room had a fireplace which is really nice in such a cold area. there were flower planters everywhere. The hotel looked like a cottage. The hotel was equipped with an indoor pool and jacuzzi, which is also nice for the cold windy weather. The hotel included a complimentary hot breakfast, with biscuits, and gravy, waffles, cereal, fruit, muffins, and ,more. The beds were very comfortable. Downy feather comforters, lots of pillows, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. The only down side was no elevator. The staff were great at check-in and in the breakfast area. I would definitely stay there again this was one of my favorite hotels ever. This was a great value for all that was offered. I have paid much more for something this nice.

Room Tip: Lower floor are probably better as they have no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we won this hotel at priceline and saved $1 compared to a AAA-Rate... so we felt a bit cheated y priceline - when we arrived they wanted to give us a room next to the busy main street "priceline has booked you a accessible room" - what a BS - priceline isnot booking any room at all on the oqaque site (name-your-own-price). so we got a room on 1st floor which was adequate, clean and spacious as in all the motels in the area.

One big plus in February 2013 (winter) was the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast as everywhere else

Recommended but not sure if there are big differences to other places around or even a B&B closed to beach or Pacific Grove?

Room Tip: upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stevenson Monterey
The Stevenson Monterey
#22 of 56 in Monterey
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Address: 1046 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $62 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing