We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected, good value in winter with indoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we won this hotel at priceline and saved $1 compared to a AAA-Rate... so we felt a bit cheated y priceline - when we arrived they wanted to give us a room next to the busy main street "priceline has booked you a accessible room" - what a BS - priceline isnot booking any room at all on the oqaque site (name-your-own-price). so we got a room on 1st floor which was adequate, clean and spacious as in all the motels in the area.

One big plus in February 2013 (winter) was the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast as everywhere else

Recommended but not sure if there are big differences to other places around or even a B&B closed to beach or Pacific Grove?

Room Tip: upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 355 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only stopped in Monterey for one night en route to San Francisco. We did not expect much but the motel-style hotel was on the whole better than expected. We had a quiet corner king bed room which was not very big but had a small balcony at the back. The bathroom was very small though. Our sons’ room ($10 more expensive) was much larger with two queen beds and it had a nice gas fireplace, the bathroom was bigger too. The indoor pool and spa tub were nice but at one point got very crowded with noisy kids. The breakfast room was very small (some 15 seats only?) we could not get a table at first, so we had to come back later. The breakfast itself was ok, the porridge was nice.

Room Tip: queen bed rooms are bigger, gas fireplace is nice to have when cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best thing about this Clarion is definitley the Indoor Heated Pool & super hot sauna. For a family with children and during the cooler weather months, this is the ticket. The pool area is clean and the large glass windows bring in lots of light. It was a pleasure, in spite of the woefully thin pool towels. The pool is fairly large and heated just right and the jacuzzi is super relaxing. The good stuff included beds and pillows which were quite comfortable, and clean rooms. We also liked the flat screen TV and free HBO/cable. The location was good, close to Carmel and a good shopping center. The motel is clearly old, but they keep it clean. Please, if you are looking for upscale, you are not going to find it here. But if you want a great indoor pool & jacuzzi at a reasonable price this is the place. Oh, I will say that the breakfast could be vastly improved with just a little effort. I also don't see why they cut the waffles, and they need to invest in new toasters. The addition of yogurt would go a long way. Otherwise the cereal is fine and our children loved the waffles. Would I stay there again? If on a budget, then yes I would.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room for a better night sleep. Also, on weekends get a room away from pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank placeformom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had the handicapped room this time for my scooter, room was clean and neat, the patio wasn't the cleanest but I asked and they cleaned, the room was what we payed for, the breakfast was okay, the waffles were cut into 4 pieces for no reason and we had to ask for them to make more on the 3 rd day, but overall we had a pleasant stay and will defiantly go back.

Room Tip: we did the advanced stay and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNCLEJARHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Never again. Very disappointing! We booked our room through Hotwire. When we arrived the staff was very friendly that is the best thing I can say about this place. The room we were put in was an old one painted to look nice but you could see HEAVY wear & tear & the smell was so strong of chemicals I had to be moved 2 times because I couldn't breath & got a headache. They were accommodating but a little irritated. No hotel should use a chemical so strong that guests can't breath. Asthmatic's & people with lung disease beware!!! The final room ( they let me know this was it! ) was a little better but still had that strong smell & since I prepayed I was stuck there. Travel tip: upstairs rooms are far better than the bottom floor rooms? It made me wonder if they reserved those for guests not booked at a discount??? The breakfast was a carb fest but it was decent. If staying here expect a 2 star hotel. If you are looking for something nicer pay for it.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are in better condition as k for one upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Pool and sauna was excellent! However, when it was time for breakfast we were detoured to the hotel next door which was a little inconvenient and annoying. Again, love the pools!

Pillows were so soft I had to request two extra. Good service. I liked how when you walk in the lobby an attendant appears in seconds. Very courteous staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Femi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just not a lot to say about this place...I only stay because it is the least expensive in town and they usually have rooms. I can walk (far) into Monterey and it has easy access back onto the highway, but that is it. Weak breakfast, beds, room. But it's a value place so you get what you pay for...keep that in mind and you'll be ok with it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobes313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#26 of 56 in Monterey
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Address: 1046 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $57 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing