We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$113
Hotels.com
$139
Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$101
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Simon682015
Derby, United Kingdom
Great Location
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 17, 2019
The Stevenson Monterey was clean and comfortable. It looks like a typical American motel and is in a great location to be near all the things we wanted to see during our stay in Momterey.
The free breakfast was good and there was a nice variety of things on offer. Also, there was free access to the hot drinks machine throughout the day which was a nice touch.
As a family it was nice to have a door between our rooms which could be opened when we wanted it to be.
The pool was a welcome addition in the heat of the day and although very small it was a really nice feature which our family really enjoyed.
Date of stay: July 2019
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$194
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $188
0.1 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Vio.com
    $203
  • Hotels.com
    $219
0.4 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$350
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $350
  • Vio.com
    $326
  • Hotels.com
    $350
1.2 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
$105
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • Expedia.com
    $116
0.3 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$122
  • Priceline
    $122
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Expedia.com
    $122
0.7 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $221
  • eDreams
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $221
1.3 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $284
  • Algotels
    $243
  • Expedia.com
    $284
1.5 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    $249
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $249
0.9 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$177
$165
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $165
0.6 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $199
2.2 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Monterey
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location underground parking room was clean small pool minute walk main road road trip ice machine close to downtown third floor motel wharf elevator dennys coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2019

We stayed at the Stevenson Monterey for two nights. When arrived the front desk personnel greeted us with smile, it was really pleasant and took away our tired feeling from long drive.
The room was nice and clean, nothing fancy but had everything we needed. Since we stayed for two days we experienced room cleaning. They are absolutely did great work on cleaning out room too.
Their location is also nice. You can have access to almost everything within a walking distance.
I am very pleased with their service and will definitely come back to the Stevenson Monterey for the future visit.
Thank you so much!

Room tip: If you do mind the noise from upstairs request for an upper level rooms.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toshikochan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Toshikochan8:

WOW! Thank you very much for such a fantastic review! I’m very happy to know you had a great experience staying at the Stevenson Monterey. We are fortunate to have a central location close to major tourist hot-spots, activities, shopping, dining and nightlife. Our staff will be pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We’d definitely love to host you again on your next Monterey trip.

On your next visit, be sure to book directly on TheStevensonMonterey.com to get the lowest possible rates available online and save even more! You can save up to 15% vs OTAs.

Thanks again for staying at the Stevenson Monterey and do recommend our hotel to other travelers,

Craig S.
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

Excellent service from check in to check out Very helpful and informative at the desk Breakfast plentiful and although the space is not large we got a seat straight away
Excellent location for the sightseeing in Monterey
Would recommend wholeheartedly

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jfmanchester2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Jfmanchester2016:

Thank you for your PERFECT SCORE REVIEW!! and for sharing how pleased you were with our location, our staff, and our amenities. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. I hope you took advantage of our complimentary parking and got to relax by our pool with friends and family after you explored all of the shops and gourmet restaurants that are steps away from our boutique hotel.

When you're ready to stay with us again, be sure to book direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com for the lowest rates available online.

Thanks again for staying at The Stevenson Monterey,

Craig S
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

The first time to stay at Stevenson but not Monterey. We found the location to be excellent for the value. It was comfortable to sleep. We don't spend much time in the room when we visit Monterey. It has a swimming pool. The motel also provides a continental breakfast. There is no restaurant onsite.

We had a slight issue with captions on the TV. However, Tracy preserverence turned a negative into a positive. Those are the kind people all hotels & motels need on their staff! Kudos. All the staff very helpful with what your needs are.

The only negative is some noise. It has nothing to do with the motel. It's the outside traffic & buses. It's centralized which noise is to be expected but little more than we remember.

We will be back to Monterey again. We will definitely consider The Stevenson as a front runner for a place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcborange
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

jcborange:

Thanks for leaving us such a nice review! Thank you for sharing how pleased you were with our staff and our amenities. I also want to thank you for taking the time to appreciate Tracy’s great efforts. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team and we hope you visit us again to experience more great service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for another enriching stay!

Remember to book direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com for the lowest rates available online.

Thanks again for staying at The Stevenson Monterey,

Craig S
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel, as it’s right in middle of town. First time staying here and it was a pleasant experience thanks to the helpful and kind staff. Major thanks to Alex for making this experience pleasant and more meaningful for me and my girlfriend. I look forward to coming here again I the distant future.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tony_8611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Tony:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a PERFECT SCORE REVIEW about your stay at our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in a very strategic location that brings our guests just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences. I'm glad that you loved our accommodations and I truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. I’ll be sure to let Alex know what a positive impact he made. We’d love to host you again.

It is a great idea to book your stay directly on TheStevensonMonterey.com to get the lowest rates available online on your next stay.

Thank you for staying at the Stevenson Monterey,


Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

Handy place to park the car and walk to Fisherman's Wharf or the restaurants and shops in the area. Next to a Chevron where you can get snacks. Affordable for the area. I chose it for the location and that they allowed us to stay one night instead of requiring a two night stay. Clean room, stayed upstairs. Drawback: thin walls - or maybe it was the connecting door to the other room (locked). We could hear all conversation as well as...you know. Earplugs to the rescue. Did not eat at the free breakfast as we went out for a meal.

Room tip: Second floor best, get there early to park the car. Limited spaces.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Monarat:

Thank you so much for your review! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you loved our clean and comfortable accommodations. We're lucky to have a convenient location which allows our guests to visit nearby top attractions, shopping destinations, dining, and nightlife. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay. However, If you had just voiced your concerns to our front desk staff, we would have gladly tried to make things right. Helping our guests have an amazing experience is our goal.

Thanks again for staying at The Stevenson Monterey and do recommend our hotel to other travelers,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews