We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$179
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$179
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$134
Fully refundable before Mon, Apr 22
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Manuel C
Fun trip
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 22, 2019
Very clean everything works continental breakfast was good Staff was fantastic especially desk man Alex. Easy access to Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium and the boardwalk the free trolley was only a block away had a great time very convenient
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
$278
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $253
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • travelup.com
    $297
0.1 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$422
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $422
  • Agoda.com
    $379
  • Priceline
    $479
0.4 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
Hotels.com
$350
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $350
  • Vio.com
    $326
  • Priceline
    $327
1.2 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hotels.com
$197
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Priceline
    $219
0.3 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
$294
$233
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $233
  • Priceline
    $259
  • travelup.com
    $294
1.3 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Monterey Bay Lodge overlooking Lake El Estero
Expedia.com
$148
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $148
  • Skyscanner.com
    $139
  • Algotels
    $164
0.6 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$355
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
    $355
  • Algotels
    $266
  • travelup.com
    $285
1.5 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$194
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $194
  • Skyscanner.com
    $174
  • Priceline
    $213
0.7 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hyatt.com
$339
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Priceline
    $339
  • Algotels
    $286
  • Hotels.com
    $339
0.9 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
    $259
  • Vio.com
    $227
  • Priceline
    $289
2.2 miles from The Stevenson Monterey
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Monterey
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location underground parking room was clean small pool minute walk main road road trip ice machine close to downtown third floor motel wharf elevator dennys coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

I would give this 3.5 stars. Very clean, nice tiled shower enclosure, comfortable bed, spacious. The location is excellent, central, you can walk safely in the neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants. The gentleman who checked me in helped with dining recommendations and a walking map. I would recommend earplugs, nothing against the hotel, but it does back up to a Chevron station so you hear the slamming of car doors often. It is a basic comfortable hotel, nothing super luxe, the furnishings are a bit worn. I had a good deal on Hotels.com, if that popped up again I would consider staying here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank giftgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Giftgrrl:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to see that overall you were happy with your stay. Our staff’s focus is guest centric and they are fantastic at delivering heartfelt hospitality to our guests. We are ideally seated in the heart of downtown Monterey, which means that there will be sounds throughout the evening compared to a secluded country inn. The fact that we are within walking distance to Monterey’s top attractions, boutique shops and 50 + highly rated restaurants, and the fact that we deliver genuine hospitality, a host of lifestyle amenities, and very competitive rates year round, is the main reason that most folks book at our boutique hotel. Our stylish hotel was recently renovated from top to bottom, so our furnishings are far from worn; but rather timeless, adding to the unmatched boutique experience we aim to deliver to each guest. I do hope you choose us again the next time you are in Monterey.

If you book your stay direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com you will find the lowest rates for your room. Much more competitive than OTA rates.

Thank you for staying in Stevenson Monterey,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

Great graduation at MPC for the class of 2019 from Monterey High School... We caught an early flight home to Last Vegas and literally flew into the sunrise. The Stevenson of Monterey was a really great experience. I would recommend to all my friends and family, while visiting the Bay, this hotel is a must!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Voyage555711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Voyage555711:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a PERFECT SCORE REVIEW and sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your graduation at MPC. I’m glad that you had a great stay and you loved our spacious and well-appointed guest rooms. We’d definitely love to host you again on your next trip to Monterey.

When you book your stay, book direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com to find the lowest rates for your room.

Thank you for staying in Stevenson Monterey,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Hotel is centrally located and easy walking to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row.
Rooms are on the small size and we had a room located near the road so was quite noisy with the traffic all night. Breakfast was good and overall experience was good

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Boiga:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy that you overall liked your stay at our hotel. We have recently renovated our rooms with double -paned windows have been installed in each guest room this year to help with energy efficiency and noise. I’m not sure when you’ll be back in Monterey, but we’d love to be your go-to hotel.

If you book your stay direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com you will find the lowest rates for your room.

Thank you for staying in Stevenson Monterey,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great shower n great location. Easy to explore the local area from the accomadation
We needed a rest for the night after a 6 he drive n saw the Stevenson , glad we choose to stay st the first place we saw! Great value for room price

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Saraharmitstead:

Thanks for giving us such a high score! I am thrilled to hear that you found us easily, and loved your stay. We are lucky to have such a fantastic location that is so close to shopping, restaurants, and all of the attractions that draw people to Monterey. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Just remember, if you book your stay direct at TheStevensonMonterey.com you will find the lowest rates for your room.

Thank you for choosing The Stevenson Monterey,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

We had a great stay at The Stevenson Monterey. This hotel is right in the center on the city with great places to eat and about 15 minutes walk to the Old Fisherman Wharf. Alex who was at the front desk was very attentive and he gave us great information about the many places to visit in the area. Our room was modern, spacious, and clean. In addition, they offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning.
I will definitely come back to this hotel the next time I visit Monterey.
Thank you!!!

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank V1559ZTelizabethc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Elizabeth:

What a fantastic review. Thank you! Hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us makes my day. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our awesome staff, fantastic location, and our comfortable guest rooms. Next time you stay with us we’ll have even more suggestions on tours, dining, and attractions ready to share.

Remember to book directly on TheStevensonMonterey.com to get the lowest rates available online on your next stay. See you soon!

Thank you for staying in Stevenson Monterey,

Craig
Owner
The Stevenson Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews