We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$179
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$179
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Skyscanner.com
$138
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
392
203
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location underground parking room was clean small pool minute walk main road road trip ice machine close to downtown third floor motel wharf elevator dennys coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Room is very comfortable for an overnight stay. For the price it is hard to go past. Has everything you need. Bed was comfy and staff are friendly. Good location near shops if you want to buy food,drinks etc. Can walk to Fisherman’s wharf. Older style accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Thank you for a wonderful review. You were very comfortable in the room, friendly staff and good location. Come back to scenic Monterey again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

First experience of this type of hotel/motel. The room was good and clean though the bathroom was very small. Due to the location there was a lot of road noise and also from people passing in the street late at night

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Thank you for your 4 bubble review. We have a free continental breakfast, free wifi and a swimming pool heated seasonally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

During our nice drive along highway 1 between Los Angles and San Francisco my wife and I have been staying at several motels and this was definitely the worst motel during our trip. The male in the reception was unfriendly and was suffering of lack of service. The coffee in the breakfast was undrinkable. Rooms were worn out years ago; the carpet (broadloom) smells awful, shower & toilet looks like it is from the 80’s and overall feeling is that this is a very low class motel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Niklas6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Thank you for your review, although somewhat disingenuous. You booked through an OTA or Online Third Party, Booking.com. You booked for 2 nights and tried canceling the 2nd night upon arrival. You actually tried completely canceling the reservation with Booking.com while actually staying with us.on your first nigh. Suffice it to say you may have been unhappy for this reason.

We suggested you call Booking.com as they were where you made your reservation. Apparently you could not get satisfaction from them, so you are trying to take it out on us with a made up story line about how things were. We do follow their guidelines and policies and ours as well. It is simple as cancellation is possible 72 hours in advance.

This review will not stand out in the face of all the good ones we get, Our reputation speaks for itself on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

Awesome location to rest up in Monterey - this motel has the basics and it does offer a continental breakfast and an elevator. Great underground parking as well. Alex - the front desk personnel was awesome and very friendly - he offered lots of suggestions of places to go and visit. The location is also pretty fantastic, gas station next door, Denny’s and other places to eat just across the street.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank xwarrior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Thank you for a wonderful review. We truly appreciate you noting our friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff and the location. Our guest really enjoy discovering Monterey on foot. 50+ restaurants within 3 blocks and Fisherman's Wharf a 12 minute walk away. We hope to see you again in scenic Monterey soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

Great value for money!
Very clean, staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Free parking outside and also two gas stations right outside the hotel.
Very short walk to a lovely row of restaurants.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank TylerMayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Thank you for a great review. Very positive and very nice. Our staff appreciates your comments about them being friendly and helpful. Come back again soon to scenic Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews