We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Travelodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Great Travelodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

I stayed at this Travelodge for a very short period, arriving late in the evening and checking out early the next morning.

During my short stay I was quite pleased with everything. I would submit that those who are giving the property poor ratings maybe need to re-adjust their expectations of an economy hotel -- and never use a third party website like Expedia! Book with a travel agent or the hotel directly for the best service.

This property is everything that a Travelodge should be. While it seems somewhat dated and is definitely economy-class, everything was very clean and in good working condition. The bed was EXCELLENT! I was really amazed at the quality of the bedding in this economy motel. I think it's just the same cheap bed with a nice mattress topper, but I got a great night's sleep.

The front desk manager went above and beyond by noticing my oversized truck outside, and advising me to just leave it in the registration parking as I would have difficulty with their underground lot. I really appreciated the advice and him letting me park there. He was also kind enought to assign us a room directly above my vehicle.

The location is great if you are visiting downtown Monterey, we were able to walk to nearby bars and restaurants.

When I rate hotels I start off by assigning 4 stars if the hotel meets my expectations, then adding or deducting from there. This hotel exceeded my expectations for an economy hotel such as Travelodge.

  • Liked — The bed.
  • Disliked — It's a Travelodge -- what more could I expect?
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrinJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your 5 Star Review. You truly liked everything about us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    251
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
167
271
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We were welcomed by the nice manager of this hotel. He was really helpful where to go, but also to explain some politics. As a result we could use the internet in the lobby for free.
Good place to stay: close walk to the fishermans wharf. Close ride to the highway 1.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank heegmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for the 4 star review. You our staff and location. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the Travelodge Friday and Sat night. we were greeted by a great manager and he was very helpful in telling us all of the dos and don'ts of monterey. We had no expectations, I spent most of my time planning the Napa portion of our trip. Our room had recently been redone and we were excited to find great new beds, frig, tv that worked and a big fan along with the new ac unit. I love fans just for white noise but it was really not noisy here. We parked in the underground parking and never moved our car till we left Sunday morning. We took the bus that is close by to Carmel, great move because parking is impossible there. This hotel was clean, close to everything, in a safe area and the coffee, pastry and fruit in the morning were just an added bonus. This was a great deal for the money, loved not having to drive, 10 min walk to fishermen's wharf, five min to Mucky ducks, thanks for the tip!!! The walk to Cannery row was less than 25 but kept stopping to look at the sea lions. We will be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your 4 star review. You liked our location, value and service. Come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

2 night stay whilst we took in a whale-watching trip.

Great location for the waterfront and downtown restaurants and shops. Only trouble is, the noise from the nearby [busy] intersection.

Helpful advice from front desk on most things - laundromat, restaurants.

Don't expect much in terms of complimentary breakfast though!

  • Liked — Walking distance of all major attractions
  • Disliked — Noise from intersection
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for adjoining rooms when booking if you are a family with 2 rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our location, value and service. Come stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

I booked the room about 9moths in advance for the monterey historics.I paid for the room room in full through expedia.4 weeks before the event the hotel cancelled my reservations.travel lodge corpraite said they are privately owned nothing they can do hotel said to basicaly to bad . went on the net found out they changed there requirements to a 4 day min and raised the price.expedia gave me 100 dollar credit.

  • Tips/Secrets — keep calling to make sure you have a room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank jms67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Manager at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, August 26, 2006
We do not cancel bonafide reservations. This person, who was never our guest, mentions they got a credit from Expedia. Expedia obviously was responsible for any error.
Why should a hotel like ours with a great location and who has spent many dollars
on new air conditioners, new beds, wi-fi
all in the name of pleasing the customer,
spend time listening to any customer but
those who are willing to share their name
and email with us. This approach that it
is ok to bash a place even when someone
did not stay there is wrong. Without a name
we cannot even respond appropriately. Trip Advisor seems totally comfortable
with this. WE have been a successful business for many years and work hard to please all of our customers, but this
web site glorifies negative comments that have never represented an accurate sample of the comments we receive at the hotel.
Craig Smith, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We were forced to find another hotel late at night when our original choice was awful; this is how we found the Travelodge. The service was excellent and can tell that the hotel is currently going through a lot of upgrades. The location is safe and is close to a lot of restaurants and shops. The room was clean, but I felt like we paid too much money for what we received.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our location and friendliness. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

Overall the hotel is fine, but we had an issue with our third party reservation that the hotel did not handle well. In fact we lost almost an hour and a half standing in the lobby, on a much needed barely 24 hour long vacation weekend. It isn't clear who's fault the actual reservation issue was, but we were treated like we were at fault and there was no urgency to help get clarity. Overall, I'd say go somewhere else. I've stayed at the Quality Inn in Monterey, central, cheap, nicer rooms and service that makes you want to come back.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank chudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our value. Sorry we did not meet your expectations with the 3rd party confusion. Try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing