We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Though not directly in the nicest part of downtown, we could walk from the hotel to all the attractions in Monterey. The room was very nice, and clean. We had a corner room and could hear traffic on the street throughout the night. This wasn't bothersome to us- we live in NYC, but it might be if you're used to the quiet.

The hotel had free internet, coffee and cereal out all day, had a fridge and microwave in the room. It was right next to a gas station and across the street from a Denny's. The neighborhood wasn't bad, but wasn't an attraction either.

For its proximity to Monterey attractions and including parking and a decent room, it was a very good price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plonialmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Thank you for your positive comments.
We work hard to keep our rooms clean
and to create a good value for our customer's
dollars.
We have only 5 end rooms and all rooms have double-paned windows and brand new
furniture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 680 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at the Downtown Monterey Travelodge twice - in December of last year, and May last spring. We plan to stay there again soon in early December this year to experience the "Christmas In The Adobes" event. This will be our second time at the "Adobes" event, where there are beautiful candlelit Adobes, lots of music and entertainment, great good, and some unique Christmas gift possibilities. (The Adobes are an easy walk from the Downtown Travelodge.)

We have found the Travelodge to be probably the most centrally located and reasonably priced "budget" lodging in Monterey - especially if you want easy access to the downtown. Not fancy or frilly but clean and modern and very well maintained, with all the basic requirements that make for a good stay. Our room seemed recently renovated, bed was firm and felt new, everything was spotless and super clean. Nice bathroom and shower with plenty of hot water. Hair dryer, coffee maker and other conveniences.

During our visit last May, we brought our bikes with us on the back of the vehicle on a lockable rack. We used the hotel as a base of operations as we walked and biked around Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row (there is a great bike path from downtown Monterey to Cannery Row to Pacific Grove). Many people walk or bike on this "dual use" path as did we on our visit. We also transported our bikes to Carmel and tried riding around Carmel for a while - which is actually more difficult to do and not recommended! Best to walk in Carmel! Save your bike for the Monterey bike path!

I might add that the staff at the Travelodge property were excellent. It is family owned and managed and you can tell that there is great attention to details. Last visit in May, we had a good conversation with the owner and general manager, Craig, who is a great guy. He seems to be very active and hands on in managing the property and he is a Monterey expert and I believe grew up there. We recently were able to get him on the phone when we were making reservations for our upcoming December visit. He gave us some tips in connection with our stay during the upcoming Christmas In The Adobes. He has been our best tour guide for Monterey so far!

One thing I should mention: I saw some comments about street noise. Though the motel is located near a busy intersection and though we found there to be some general typical street noise, our rooms have been amazingly quiet during both stays - this was not an issue for us.

In closing, you can't go wrong staying here. A good, clean, well run motel, with all the basic features a traveler needs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockeahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Thank you for your 4 star review. You found us clean, well maintained, safe and quiet. Come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Travelodge mascot is a sleepy bear because he can't get any shut-eye. I cannot recall ever having stayed in a less quiet room -- if it's not the giant service trucks or buses passing by on Fremont and Munras, it's the neighbors listening to music until 4am. Clearly, the walls are paper thin, and the windows must be single pane to allow so much sound in. It might be better if you're on the side farther from Abrego.
The room was okay -- perfectly clean, just surprisingly small and stuffy.
I wouldn't stay here again. There are other motels further up Munras that are both nicer and much quieter. Until the Travelodge makes a commitment to soundproof its rooms, it's not worth staying, because the most important service, a comfortable place to sleep, is not provided.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner and GM at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2009

We have had double-paned windows for
more than 10 years. We have a 24-hour front
desk who accomodates any and all guest
requests whether if be a noisy room nearby
or anything else. Our walls are standard and
are not paper thin. WE have upgraded the rooms completely in the last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The room, 204, had new furniture, new tile in the bathroom, new bedding, new carpet, well, almost new everything. The layout of the room was very dated. The metal screen room separator was a flash-back to the 60's, behind which was an odd-shaped closet area. If they spent that much to for the new furnishings, I wish they would have spent a little more and updated the layout of the room as well. There was only a shower, no bathtub, and the shower head is very low. I had to bend down to wash my hair. There is clearly room for improvements here.

The bed was very comfortable allowing for a great nights sleep.

Vending is very limited. I found one soda machine, and one ice machine. There is a gas station next door if you need anything else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Thank you for the 4 star review. You liked our location and cleanliness. Now that we have remodeled our bathrooms, come back for a visit here in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We had a major leak in the ceiling of our room when the upstairs guest took a shower! Water pouring through into our room. On top of that the toilet was broken and wouldn't flush - horrible. The place was generally very run down and in need of repair. There are plenty better places further up that street - go there instead.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delft156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

We are a completely renovated property with all new carpeting, furniture, Pillow top beds, bed toppings, curtains, Amana heater/air conditioners. We offer an expanded continental breakfast, free wi-fi, free parking. We regret this guest experienced a slight leak from the ceiling caused by a showerhead pipe that was fixed the next day. The leak did not last long and we offered to change their room. The guest declined the offer for a room
change. Again, we are sorry that their sleep was interrupted. The situation did resolve itself in relatively short order and the guest elected to stay in the room.
in their room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I've stayed at nicer hotels, but I have definitely stayed at worse. This was the cheapest hotel we found online. Didn't have high expectations when we arrived, but everything turned out fine. The room was small, and very muggy. No ventilation AT ALL, not even a fan in the bathroom. But it was only a fifteen minute walk from the Wharf, and twenty minutes from Cannery Row and the Aquarium. With free parking we left our car at the Hotel the entire time and walked everywhere we wanted to go. Had a wonderful time. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean, except for some mold around the bathroom shower stall. Biggest complaints are the lack of ventilation, the high pitch whistle that the shower head made, and the city bed tax that no one told us about until it showed up on the bill. All in all had a good stay. The room was inexpensive and had no amenities, but it served its purpose of providing us a place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank where_to_next09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

Our rooms have all brand new furniture, carpeting, bedding and curtains. We have
newer Amana air conditioner/heaters and they
provide excellent ventilation. We have double-paned windows to help with warmer and cooler weather. We checked the room for overall cleanliness and found no problems.
We score consistently high on Travelodge's
GX+ score (developed by JD Powers and
Associates). It is a completely guest scored system and we are in the top 25 Travelodge properties nationwide. By the way, bed (transient) taxes are regularly charged by cities throughout California and U.S..
Nowadays you will see tourism assessments too and for an economy lodge in Monterey the cost is .50 per room per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Rooms good and clean. breakfast included very good just not enough room early in the morning to sit and eat. found the place very quiet beds good size and comfortable. would stay here again. staff very friendly and helpful. excellent budget place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rscnorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Thank you for a 4 star review. You liked our location, friendliness and service. Come again to scenic Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $76 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travelodge
Monterey Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing