We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Appointed - Super Clean - Super Well Run! Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
“Well Appointed - Super Clean - Super Well Run! Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We spent four great nights at the Downtown Monterey Travelodge in January. Weather was sunny and perfect - higher temps than usual for late January. Our room was super clean and super quiet. Bed was very comfortable - seemed brand new. Shower was great - plenty of hot water - clean fresh new towels - TV worked great - heater and air conditioner were flawless ... in-room coffee maker was convenient. In other words all the basic yet important amenities that you expect to work did indeed work perfectly! And this hotel is so centrally located. Easy driving distance to Aquarium, Carmel, Pacific Grove, Cannery Row, etc. Walking distance to downtown Monterey - there is even a brand new Trader Joe's a few short blocks away (next door to a Peet's coffee!). We found this to be super convenient if we wanted to grab some apples or juice or sandwich or wine or whatever and bring it back to our room. Another thing we appreciated was the complimentary continental breakfast in the hotel lobby - this helped us get out the door efficiently when we wanted to get an early start - without having to take the time and expense to deal with restaurants. (But if we wanted to eat breakfast out, there are a number of restaurants within walking distance, ranging from a Denny's to upscale.) In summary: we've stayed at this Downtown Travelodge twice in the past. We love the central location and and can't over-emphasize how clean and well maintained our rooms have always been. All in all, a great value!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
By the end of April, 2009 we have all new carpets and furniture in all rooms. Our new
pillowtop beds, 100% non-smoking, no pets
policy appeals to many of our repeat customers. Our continental breakfast is expanded including juices, coffee, several types of breads, bagels, cream cheeses, hard
boiled eggs, fresh fruit and more. You can
walk to over 40+ restaurants within 4 blocks.
Our pool is heated at 81 degrees in season.

Free wi-fi, free business center with printing
and a very experienced, friendly front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    256
    139
    39
    27
See reviews for
171
277
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

The room seamed dirty and shabby with a strange odour. The hairdryer did´nt work and it was really cold at night. The bed was ok and the complimentary breakfast was nice, otherwise I should have rated the hotel one point!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
I apologize that your stay at the Monterey Downtown Travelodge did not meet your expectations during your trip to historic, downtown Monterey. In later April of 2009, we have completed an upgrade of all new carpeting, furniture, lamps, artwork, and curtains in our 100% non-smoking property.
The upgrade did take 6 weeks and is now complete. I apologize for the inconvenience
and hope you will give the Monterey Downtown Travelodge another opportunity to better serve on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Perhaps it was just good timing - rooms had all just been refitted - but we were really impressed by this Travelodge. Comfortable room and a brand new springy bed. Breakfast was included and was buffet style. Great price and just round the corner from some very good restaurants! Just one word of caution, soundproofing between rooms could be improved.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
Thank you for noticing the first of our new,
professionally designed rooms. Our Simmons Pillowtop beds have been in place
for several years. Our price tends to be affordable for Downtown Monterey and there are over 40+ restaurants within 3 blocks.
The ability to take a short to downtown, historic Monterey is what helps make us unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Don't stay here. My room was small, cramped and depressing. There was a very strong smell of disinfectant that never left. The bathroom was small and very dated, with no bathtub. The front desk staff wasn't very helpful. I found the whole experience extremely depressing, even in such a beautiful town.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequentflier007nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Managing Partner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
I apologize that your stay at the Monterey
Downtown Travleodge did not meet your expectations during your trip to downtown Monterey. Because smell is a common concern in the hotel industry, we try hard to
limit the amount of cleaners we use. I
am sorry that we were unable to prove this
point in your room. The hotel industry is
veering away from bathtubs but we do have
7 out of 51 rooms with bathtubs and they are
available on request. We have a 24 hour front desk that endeavors to provide friendly, helpful information. I apologize if you received
anything less than excellent service. Our front
desk staff are all seasoned, well-trained professionals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

Stayed for a night on two separate occasions whilst travelling to and from SF-LA.
It is not a luxury option but is fine if all you are looking for is a bed and breakfast with no frills. There are some factors to take into account, though.

As others have noted, it is not in a quite corner of town. If you are on the ends and/or ground floor and are planning on an early night you may struggle to get off to sleep! Go for the highest floor you can get in the centre - but isn't a tall or long building so you won't have too many options.

The location is not bad, though, and the front of house staff are very helpful. I wouldn't stay more than a night here but I would stay there again - in fact we did.

  • Liked — Everything needed for a night's stopover at a decent rate
  • Disliked — Bathroom a bit shabby and the toilet is cramped.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Broadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our value and service. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

At the end of the day, you pay for what you get, and this is Monterey so you unfortunately you have to pay more.
The bloke on the front desk was friendly and welcoming and happy to answer questions, but I do agree with other people - it is a tad shabby and worn (it is clean though) and can be a bit noisey, especially as we were on the ground floor near the reception (which is to be expected).
Like most travellers we were here for one night passing through - location wise it is fine as it is only a short walk to bars / restaurants.
If you need somewhere in town to sleep for one night for a good price then go for it.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gruff_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our location and service. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

This hotel is more of a motel with external access to all rooms on three floors. The location is good – it is easy to find coming into the town and is very convenient to the downtown area and the compact size of Monterey means it is walkable to the Wharf. Cannery Row is a bit further but there was a free bus which leaves from close to the hotel and does a loop. Other cheaper accommodation options are further from the centre. The breakfast was adequate, and parking was not a problem.

However, the problems were that all rooms face out onto a petrol station forecourt and a major traffic intersection beyond that, with another petrol station and late opening Denny’s restaurant across the road. We stayed three nights and were disturbed every night by traffic, and people stopping or congregating on the forecourt with loud music playing and/or shouting etc. Also anyone talking outside the rooms is also easily heard. The motel style of the accommodation and the thin windows and old doors does not give a great feel of security, although Monterey itself does not feel particularly unsafe. The room was basic with old furniture and TV, and could do with an update but it was reasonably clean. I would not however stay again due to the noise problems.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our location. Come visit us in 2015 for newly renovated bathrooms. See you in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing