We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotels in Monterey are expensive in the summer, so I was pleased to find a reasonably priced alternative.

If you're looking for luxury, then this isn't the place. The rooms are fine - and do have air con. The bathrooms are a little dated. But it was clean. Fine for a night or two but might pall for any longer.

But the location is great. Walking distance to Monterey's best restaurants, and a free trolley car nearby gets you quickly to the aquarium and Cannery Row.

The staff were also friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was fine - the waffle machine adding to the fun.

As other reviews point out, it is next to a gas station, but that didn't disturb us to be honest, although we were waking up on a Sunday morning when it might have been quieter.

But for affordability and location, I'd certainly use the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devolutionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for a fine 4 Star Review. You liked the location for being close to everything you needed including the Free Trolley that goes the 1.9 miles to the Aquarium and Cannery Row.
You liked the waffles in the breakfast room too. Enjoy us on your next visit to Monterey.
As of October 1,2014 we will have a new name, The Stevenson Monterey and plan an
upgrade to all of our bathrooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    219
    128
    34
    21
See reviews for
152
232
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

:I'm going to getting my MA at the Monterey Institute, so I headed down before the school year started to arrange my living situation. The hostel was close to completely booked (& a bit far from downtown), so I had to find a hotel for my mom & I for a couple of nights. I kept seeing this place priced online for $93/night & tried booking it online before arriving in Monterey. I couldn't get that price when I tried booking over the phone, but oh well. Great people tended to me over the phone & upon arrival! The room was a good size for us & well kept, except when we saw a slight blood stain on the bedsheets. Breakfast was OK, although it was still pretty crowded at 9:30, so I took my food to my room. We always had hot running water! It gets noisy at night, but I didn't mind it. It's in a good location if your trip focus is downtown Monterey, even though you can easily get to Cannery Row & the Wharf via the many buses running out of the Monterey Transit Plaza (less than 5 min. walk from this hotel), if you're not a fan of walking everywhere. The TV was ok & the free wifi got the job done, although it seemed to be slow around 9-11pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlorEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do have great front desk people. We apologize you found a slight stain on your sheet. That should never happen and we spoke with the laundry attendants and housekeeping staff today. We are currently placing a new, modernized Wi-Fi system in place. Come back again and stay with us in the heart of historic Monterey where
free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and parking are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

we have stayed here on two seperate trips now and have had no complaints at all. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and courteous and the rooms are very clean and well equipped. we got to park for free which after san francisco was a bonus! its in a good central location to see all monterey has to offer and if i am visiting again i will definately stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Savage-Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful 5 Star Review describing us as a great hotel for the price. You said our front desk is very helpful and courteous and the rooms are very clean and well equipped. Thank you for visiting twice from the UK and enjoying our free parking, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast and our very central location. We will see you both again soon!



- by Savage-Henry D (Evesham, United Kingdom) on 7/18/14. Stay date: Sep 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I used Hotels.com to find & book this hotel. It's centrally located and close to everything. After a 2 hour drive to get to the hotel...we are told that our room would be ready at noon. We actually didn't get checked in until 3:00 p.m. I think there are only 2 maids cleaning all the rooms. The guy at the front desk was very nice & helpful though. The room was clean, definitely dated & the beds were a bit firm. However, after the people upstairs finally got to bed (we could hear them running/walking back & forth. They must have had kids.) then we were able to get to sleep. On a positive note, this hotel is close to Cannery Row & Old Fisherman's Wharf. Would I stay here again...only if I could get a room under $100.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a "good" room. If you're in a room downstairs...you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSolo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for noting our central location and clean rooms. You also noted our nice and helpful front desk. We use Simmons Pillowtop beds, above most lodging standards. Visit us again soon
and enjoy the best location in downtown Monterey. Walk to 40+ restaurants and Fisherman's Wharf.










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Don't be scared off by the retro appearance on the outside. The staff is super friendly, rooms have nice amenities and look to have been upgraded recently. The location is right near a couple streets filled with restaurants, pubs and shops. We had a room on the first floor near the stairs so it was a little noisey at night but you can't blame the hotel for errant car alarms.
Recommend eating/drinking at: Turn12, Lollapalooza's, and Alvarado St Brewing

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for a great 5 Star review. You have mentioned 3 restaurants
that are all walking distance from us. Turn 12 has a racing car theme with very good food and a nice bar, Lallapallooza is one of the finer eating and drinking establishments and the Brew Pub
is brand new. Thanks for the tips and the very positive review regarding our friendly staff
and recent refurbishing. See you on your next visit to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#19 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing