We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Short review”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Location 3,5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Staff friendliness 4/5
Bathroom 3,5/5

- kinda old furniture (70's)
- directly on a high-traffic street.
- only few blocks to the city-center
- decent but clean room
- breakfast minimalistic

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for a 4 star review. We appreciate your review and will comment that our furniture
is in great shape having been installed new in 2009. Our breakfast is considered an expanded
continental breakfast which is listed as a continental breakfast. Some visitors seem to expect something more or a full range of hot items. What we do offer for free is coffee/tea (24 hrs), waffles,hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, bread, muffins, 3 kinds of juice. In Europe full breakfasts are an additional charge. Ours is free. Those expecting a full breakfast can have a full meal nearby at one of the 40+ restaurants within 3 blocks. Our location is the best from which to discover downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf and Oceanfront Trail. Come and enjoy all we and Monterey have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    269
    144
    41
    27
See reviews for
180
299
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Rooms open directly to the outside: a gas station and a busy road junction. Noise from within the hotel and from outside was a major problem. Doors banging, voices, motorbikes, cars, lorries. We did not have a good night's sleep.

Our room was a good size but dated. The shower room in particular was in need of renovation.

There was a small swimming pool but in a poor position outside by the road. I did not see anyone use it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
by TowerTwo (Lancashire) - Collected 5 hours ago
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not have the usual and normal experience that most of our guests do. Our rooms are very clean. Our location affords our guests to walk to Fisherman's Wharf (12 minutes away) the beach and the Oceanfront Trail. Free shuttles to the aquarium are available 2 blocks away at the Transit Plaza and they run every 10-15 minutes until the Aquarium closes.

We have double-paned windows, luxurious Pillowtop beds with an expanded continental breakfast with waffles and free wi-fi. Our friendly, professional front desk staff gives out a free
map of the area upon check in and it is ok to leave your car parked here on your check out day
as you explore more of the Monterey Peninsula.


Noisy motel
Rooms open directly to the outside: a gas station and a busy road junction. Noise from within the hotel and from outside was a major problem. Doors banging, voices, motorbikes, cars, lorries. We did not have a good night's sleep.

Our room was a good size but dated. The shower room in particular was in need of renovation.

There was a small swimming pool but in a poor position outside by the road. I did not see anyone use it.
Posted on on 5/28/14
« Show less
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an older style motel but the room was spacious enough, clean and served our purposes for the two nights we stayed here at the right price. We appreciated the breakfast in the morning, there was certainly enough to get us going. The motel also had free WiFi. The bed was comfortable which is always a plus when you are travelling. The front office staff were helpful with any questions we had, especially as we were travellers from Australia. My husband left his watch in the room and we phoned later in the day to see if the watch had been located. Eric took our call and arranged to have the watch posted to Dallas, our last stop whilst in USA - now that is service and the watch arrived in Dallas the same day as we did. Thank you Eric for doing that for us - it was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeronga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for the 4 Star Review. You liked our cleanliness, the free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, comfortable bed and the helpful staff. When returning to Monterey, come stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014


The Travelodge in Monterey Bay was a great place to stay. The staff were so friendly, happy to help, answer questions and provide local knowledge and tips.

The room was a good size, functional as you would expect from a motel such as travelodge. It was very clean and had good heater/air con (we used both!), coffee maker, shower, safe and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

It was a good location - near to the main high street with choice of restaurants, bars and shops and a 10-15 minute walk down to the pier with its seafood restaurants and whale watching tours. We also walked to Cannery Row from the hotel which took a little while (about 30-45 minutes) but if you enjoy a walk along the coast path it is well worth doing.

There was a great breakfast offer with coffee & tea, juices, cereal, fruit, pastries and fresh waffles that you can make yourself - all included in your room rate! Parking was available with most spaces underground with the elevator straight from the car park to the rooms. The pool looked good but it was too cold for us to use it!

There was a little bit of traffic noise from the road - but not enough to bother you at night.

A great place for a stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you for a wonderful 5 star review. You thought we were a great place with friendly staff and a good sized room. You liked our location, free breakfast and the location. On your return to Monterey, please reserve again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Staff were helpful and friendly. Location is easy to find and you can walk to the fishermans wharf in 10 mins which is great. We had a 2 double bed room which meant plenty of space and although there is a busy road nearby it was fairly quiet. The bathroom was the rooms only let down, it was tired and small but adequate. Ok breakfast too, pancakes, cereal etc.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for a very nice 4 star review. We aim to please and as you said, the location is easy to find and you can walk to the beach, ocean-front recreational trail and Fisherman's Wharf in
about 10 minutes. You had plenty of room space and it was pretty quiet. The bathroom was ok
and you liked the breakfast. We will be upgrading more bathrooms in 2014/15 and we already
renovated 15. Please visit beautiful Monterey Peninsula again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing