We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Was a good stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for 1 adult with a queen size bed. Bed was nice and comfy. Room was clean and not smelly. Bathroom looked nice. TV had a good amount of channels to choose from. Was not bothered by any associates! =) I also notice I was booked a room away from other visitors, which i appreciate for privacy. Breakfast was nice. Waffles, a few selections of juice and fresh fruit, coffee, and other things. The front desk lady was very nice and welcoming! My only complaint? I wish the rooms had a fridge... But wouldn't mind booking again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank xpsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We really appreciate your 4 star review. All of our bed systems are Simmons Pillowtop beds
that you described as nice and comfy. You liked the clean room and all the TV channels and
you were not bothered by any noise. You liked the breakfast selection which included waffle,juice, fres fruit, yogurt and 24 hr coffee/tea. You liked our front desk staff, Come again
and just request a fridge. Many rooms have one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    268
    144
    41
    27
See reviews for
179
297
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for about the last four years when we attend the First Night Monterey event, since it is very convenient to the downtown and the event venues. We always ask for room 310, on the top floor, and were pleasantly surprised to find that it had been completely remodeled since our visit last year. A dark alcove at the back of the room had been replaced by a closet, there was new hardwood flooring, the bathroom had a new sink and fixtures, and new lamps with reading spotlights were installed over the beds. All in all, an improvement from our previous visits. Also, if you don't use the safe in the room they won't charge you for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you for a great review from repeat guests. Our location is the closest
to downtown and Fisherman's Wharf that has a free contiinental, free wi-fi and free parking. Our 15 remodeled rooms on the 3rd floor placed full length sliding mirrored doors with modern bedside lighting including a special reading lamp and beautiful iconic framed photos of the Highway One and Big Sur Coast. Please come again and we will reserve your favorite room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed my stay found it to be comfortable and clean free parking on site and breakfast was included in rate not much of a choice but sufficient . Room was comfortable and the beds were also comfy. Found the staff helpful and friendly. Good central location only about 8 min walk to Alvarado street which is where most of restaurants and shops are and only a few more minutes to the Fishermans Wharf area which I loved.
I didn't personally found the noise from the gas station to be a problem as I have read from other reviews,
I found it handy to fuel up before moving on to my next destination .
If I returned to Monterey I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for the 4 star review. You found us to be comfortable and clean with free parking.
You liked our free continental breakfast which includes 24 hr coffee, decaf and tea. Yes our central location is one of the major attractors for visiors who want to stroll to downtown Monterey,
the Rec Trail to Cannery Row,Monterey Beach and Fisherman's Wharf. There are 40+ restaruants, bars,etc. within 3 blocks. It is a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good, central location. Very nice front desk area together with a breakfast area makes it inviting and homy. Rooms are sufficiently nice. The only thing is the noise during the night since the hotel is next to the gas station; bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
You gave us a 4 star review and that speaks volumes about your total experience in downtown Monterey. THANK YOU! You said we have a good, central location and a very nice front desk
that makes it inviting and homey. You also said our rooms are nice. We apologize that you heard some noise, but our rooms do have double-paned wiindows. Our 51 non-smoking rooms with queen Pillowtop beds, have all been renovatied either last year in or in the past several years. We have Amana A/C heaters with mostly flat panel 32" TV's and safes. Our free parking is both above ground and in a garage and we have 3 stories with an elevator to make it easier to get around. We are a 3 block walk to over 40+ restaurants. Your experience in Monterey does include free wi-fi and a free continental breakfast. We will see you on your return visit to friendly,
downtown Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
541 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing