We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subpar Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Picked this hotel because we thought we would be closer to the beach and we thought the higher cost might mean that it would be nicer. No on both counts. It is a fairly long walk to the beach and the room was subpar for an expensive 2 star hotel. Very weak water pressure and the tub would not drain. Also there is a gas station in the lot next to the hotel which made a quiet nice sleep impossible. I cannot really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Monterey Beach is 4 blocks away and Fsherman's Wharf is a 12 minute walk away.
Our rates are lower than the hotel properties that surround us. We have a free continental
breakfast and they do not free breakfast. We do have maintenance working every day of the week and we reposnd to any and all situations that may occur. All of our rooms are upgraded
in the past few years. Please try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 715 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel lies on the edge of downtown , thus it is great for exploring the town, Fishermans Wharf and Cannery Row - all on foot!! There is limited parking between the hotel and the garage in front of it and plenty of parking in the basement (only you have to find the entrance - which I had trouble with). Thought check in was quick and helpful.

Booked into room 306 on the second floor. Room was a good size and I thought quite modern. It had a queen sized bed, plenty of hanging and drawer space, a large flatscreen TV and tea/coffee makings. The toilet shower was smallish but OK. Hotel offered free WIFI.

At the wekend, the room was a tad noisy as it faced the main road.

Breakfast was a typical light USA hotel one - and perfectly adequate. Eating space was limited inside the reception area, so we ate outside in the sun.

All in all the hotel is a budget hotel but its location close to all of the key things in Monterey makes it perfect for seeing the town. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for a very nice 4 star review! You noticed we are great for exploring Monterey on foot,
the room was a good sized and modern and you would return. We invite you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, it's a very clean hotel, our room was spacious and certainly large enough for the 2 of us and our hefty luggage, my only negative would be the slightly dated decor and a slight scent of a retirement home.
The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Monterey, it's certainly within walking distance of downtown Monterey and Old Fisherman's Wharf a large retail park is also within walking distance although slightly uphill. Cannery Row and Pacific Grove are also close by although some may consider more of a short drive rather than a longer walk.
Overall I was more than happy with our stay at the hotel and would certainly recommend it as a base to explore Monterey and it's surroundings.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for a very good 4 star review. We appreciate you stayed 2 nights and found us clean and spacious. You loved our lcoation which is our greatest selling point and realized you could explore Monterey on foot. Thank you for recommending us and we will see you on your next visit to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

stayed there for one night on our trip along the PCH. Huge rooms, well furnished. Motel is a bit aged but well kept. Found everything in good condition. Wifi was ok. Parking on prenise seems to be difficult though we did not during peak season. The elevator moves very slow but that's a minor problem. We did not try the pool.
Especially our little daughter enjoyed the breakfat served in the office. cosy atmosphere. joghurts, muffins, toast, waffles an juice. We did not regret our choice to stay here. Recommended!

Room Tip: try Henry's BBQ for excellent food in a cosy atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flomaxbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We appreciate the 5 star review. You liked our huge rooms, evertthing worked including wi-fi,
cozy atmoshphere in lobby/breakfast room for an enjoyable continental breakfast. And you did not regret your choice to stay here and you would recommend it. Thank you and come again
to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $95 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing