We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and i have no complaints. The hotel isn't really anything to look at but it is clean, offers a complementary breakfast and has free parking. The location is very good, close to restaurants and a short walk from the shops and Fisherman's Wharf. Monterey is a lovely town, don't forget to check out Cannery Row too, you can use the free shuttle service from Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel is close to a rather busy road and petrol station but I didn't experience any major issues with noise.

The hotel does charge $1.50 for use of the safe, which is a slightly odd and unnecessary charge in my opinion. Would stay again if I was ever in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for a very positive review. Our goal everyday is Everything's Clean, Everything Works.
Our newest totally updated rooms on the third floor include an all new bathroom, beautiful new art work with framed photos of the coast and more. Ask for it on your next stay. The free shuttle
to the Aquarium and Cannery Row Runs now through Labor Day and you just walk a few blocks
to catch it! By June 14 we will add waffles to our continental breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for The Stevenson Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 673 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a short road trip from San Francisco this was the first hotel we saw in Monterey and as it was getting latish took the chance, not the sort of place we had immagined staying at. Really good room, large and airy, very comfortable queen size twin beds(king size in the UK!), good en suite shower room,fluffy towels and the usual lotions and shampoos, coffee maker in the room(real coffee,not instant!) and large flat screen TV. Spotlessly clean and well cleaned for our second day. To top it off a free continental(they called it)breakfast. And the price? We paid $95 per night which with taxes came to $105.50.Oh... and they have free parking and even a plunge pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We thank you for taking the time and mentioning our large and airy rooms that you found spotlessly
clean with free parking and a pool. We invite you to come again on your next overseas visit.
Please ask about our newest renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Henry T. M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Beverley K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was fine until I kept waking up with red itchy welts on my arms. They got worse and worse until I had to seek medical treatment. Turns out I was getting bitten by spiders at night in the room and had an allergic reaction. At least it was not bed bugs, which is what I originally thought. The staff was helpful (moved me to another room, sprayed the room, washed my clothes in hot water--this is when we thought it might be bed bugs). The manager seemed nice, but after he called me the second time, he then sent me an email reiterating the conversation in what seemed to be legal CYA terms. It made it seem like he was really concerned I would either sue, say it was bed bugs after we figured out it wasn't, or ask for money off my bill. I did none of these, but if they had offered to comp a night or two for the trouble (and it definitely took over my trip for a couple days) that would have gone a long way. I maybe would have even stayed there again when I go back in the fall.
Aside from that, the location is good. Once I asked for a wake up call and it never came and another time I called the front desk and it rang and rang. So I got pretty disappointed after my 12-night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank for reviewing our property. Our staff helped in a situation that we have never experienced before. I was very proud of how our staff responded to your situation. As you stated, we helped you move to a new room and helped you by washing your clothes with no payment or tip expected. We and our professional team also went completely through the room you used. Nothing was found. Even then, we expressed our concern on the phone, in person and by email and asked what else we could do for you. Apparently we missed giving you a wake up cal, even though our system says the wake up call was answered. We have to say we were disappointed in how things turned out too, especially considering you had a choice and stayed with us 12 nights. We invite you to come back and come try the newest rooms we have upgraded and renovated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $78 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing