We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old but comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for one night during a road trip. The hotel is an older, park at the door type hotel. The rooms were very clean and equipped with flat scree TV, refrig and microwave, and had good WiFi. The clerk at check in was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room, obviously converted from a regular guest room was small (3 tables) with extra seating outside. The standard buffet was served and was adequate.
Overall the price was right also, and one of the better values on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hunky Joe:

I am glad that you found our hotel to be a comfortable and clean hotel that provided you with a good value. We value your business and hope to serve you on your return trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    162
    99
    20
    8
See reviews for
128
169
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here overnight after a tiring drive up Route 1. Check-in was an arduous process. The phone and the heater did not work in the first room they gave us. In trying to switch rooms, we found that most of the fridges in this hotel have no freezer compartment, one which did had a door that scraped the floor, and most of the rooms have gas heaters, giving us some safety concerns. The TV cable service was horrendous, providing no CBS or NBC station! Overall, the hotel has some maintenance issues; apparently the cleaning staff does not report problems in the rooms to the front desk. The morning breakfast, however, was fine.
The gentleman at the front desk went out of his way to find us a suitable room, but seemed to share our frustration with the maintenance issues.
The hotel itself is an older type of stucco structure. Aside from maintenance problems, the room was clean, though the gas heater was a bit difficult to regulate overnight.
We got a very good rate on the room, but if I had it to do over again, I might have chosen a different hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with an electric heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Group Leader:

We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed when we do not meet our guests expectation. Please rest assured that your feedback has been discussed with my team and we have systems in place that will address issues such that you described. Our goal is to make each of our guests stay a great stay and hope that you give us a second try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Pros:
Great service at reception
Big room
Excellent king size bed
Free parking
Safe in room

Cons:
Very small breakfast area
Poor TV reception. Very few channels.


Location isn't the best but no problem if you have a car. There's a Denny's and a few other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Ole:

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve upon the service that we strive to provide to our guests. I am glad that you got a good value at our hotel and look forward to serving you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in this attractive and reasonably priced hotel! Wish we could have stayed longer. Room 217 was Devine! Very clean, big comfy bed, lots of pillows, a huge bathroom with a bath. Very close to eateries and the bay. The staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. Even in off season, this hotel was quite busy! ( full car park) at $60 per night you cannot go wrong! Highly recommend this establishment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Kellie S

We are so glad that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. We are especially glad that we were able to provide you and our guests a great value . Room, complimentary hot breakfast and many other amenities sure makes for a great stay. We hope to see you on your return visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. It is a very quaint property with beautiful and well maintained landscaping. Many topiary trees and bushes, flowers, and vines. Small benches and tables are tucked away in different places around the property. It reminds me of a nice bed and breakfast. It has 2 hot tubs and a sauna contained in an airy wooden structure which allows for a bit of privacy and breezes to blow through. Comes with a deluxe continental breakfast which includes eggs, sausage, and waffles. I would like to suggest that management place a microwave oven in the breakfast room, so that one could warm their breakfast items, which cool off very quickly, or cook their oatmeal with more than just some hot water from a thermal container. The room we stayed in was clean but dated, reminding me of 1960's style. The carpet was worn and needs to be replaced, but while we were there, major renovations were going on. I imagine that by spring, the property will be fully renovated. The room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.The service was excellent. All the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and aimed to please. Jimmy and the breakfast room staff were especially helpful and personable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The only draw-back, if you are very sensitive to noise, would be the planes flying low overhead. It is only about a mile or two from a small airport. I noticed the planes during the daytime as we were often at the motel in the late morning and early afternoon, though I was told they were only flying in and out in the early morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrudencePays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Prudencepays:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience at our hotel. We value your input as it helps us improve upon our constant strive to provide a great stay to all of our guests. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable, and easy to find. The staff was very helpful. I wish I would've looked into the location more closely before booking though - Cannery Row is over 3 miles away, which (round trip) is a little too far of a walk for my bum hip to handle. But this is my issue entirely, not the fault of the hotel! The bed and pillows were incredibly comfy, the room was large enough & clean, the heater worked just fine, parking was a non-issue, the water pressure in the shower was decent, and breakfast was included (they even have to-go cups/lids for the coffee). Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19yowzer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am glad that you did have a good overall stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate your business and hope to serve you again on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn while traveling south along highway 1. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had been updated and was the perfect size for getting ready in the morning. The hotel is very conveniently located to Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel by the Sea.

Free breakfast came with the stay and consisted of scrambled eggs, toast, pastries, cereal, coffee and juice. WiFi is also free at the hotel, which is very helpful and appreciated. If you are traveling through the area and need a clean comfortable hotel at a reasonable rate, this is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighFlyerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Highflyer

We are glad that you were able to stay with us while travelling on one of California's most scenic Pacific Coast Highway 1. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you were able to enjoy our fine facilities plus our convenient location.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.6 mi away
The Stevenson Monterey
The Stevenson Monterey
#23 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing